The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2000, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 57
I am getting in this discussion way late, but for what it is worth it seems to me you have to stick with the rule on this one ... no correction can be made.

The unambiguous NFHS Case Book example, the limitation on Correctable Errors and the specified treatment of AP errors make the ruling "easy" (well, "clear" may be a better description).

If the team who erroneously inbounded the ball did not score, we are not off the hook. We made a mistake. The play stands. But the game has been altered by an official's error. Whether or not a direct score resulted is not relevant.

The error (incorrect team inbounding the ball) is really no different than missing a travel that results in points, or missing a goaltending call that takes points away. We can't put ourselves in the position of opening the door on correcting errors outside of the rule, or we'll be negotiating numerous calls per game. The boundaries have been defined and are really there for our benefit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1