The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 06, 2013, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Backcourt. Hmm.

Green knocked it away just before the play reached the area of the division line. It then touched the yellow player who had a foot in the backcourt.

Ball now has backcourt status and is in control of team A but team B was the last to touch the ball before it gained backcourt status.

Legal so far.

It then bounced in the frountcourt giving the ball frontcourt status.

Legal so far.

Then the player who had a foot in the backcourt grabbed the ball giving it backcourt status again.

He was the last person to touch the ball before it gained backcourt status (see above) and is now the first person to touch the ball after it gained backcourt status.

Violation.


All that said, I don't think there is any way to see that in real time and be confident about it.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 06, 2013, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
I thought the BC violation was pretty easy. The only thing that makes it a little bit difficult is that the T has lots of bodies flying in front of him. It might have been easier for the C to call it. That brings up a whole new issue!

The OOB looks pretty bad. Obviously Kitts isn't just going to make up a call. He thought he saw it hit the line. His position for this call was not the greatest. I guess my thought is to make that call at that time, you better be 110% sure of what you saw.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 06, 2013, 08:27pm
cmb cmb is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 26
I guess I'm in the minority here, but I don't see a good enough replay to confidently say the ball did not touch the line. The first look is from across the court and almost screened, and the second look shows nothing useful whatsoever. I can't say whether I think the call was correct or not based on these two looks at it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 06, 2013, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
OOB calls where you are right on top of the ball are though ones to make.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 07, 2013, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmb View Post
I guess I'm in the minority here, but I don't see a good enough replay to confidently say the ball did not touch the line. The first look is from across the court and almost screened, and the second look shows nothing useful whatsoever. I can't say whether I think the call was correct or not based on these two looks at it.

Pearlvision.......the sooner the better
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 07, 2013, 10:43am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Pearlvision.......the sooner the better
LOL!!!

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 07, 2013, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Backcourt. Hmm.

Green knocked it away just before the play reached the area of the division line. It then touched the yellow player who had a foot in the backcourt.
Gold 4 collects ball before ball reaches the division line.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 07, 2013, 11:21am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
Gold 4 collects ball before ball reaches the division line.
What?

Not sure what that has to do with anything...gold player layong on floor has hand on ball and foot in backcourt. That's before #4 picks the ball up.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 07, 2013, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
Gold 4 collects ball before ball reaches the division line.
Correct. But that fact is irrelevant since Green 11 then knocks the ball out of his hands to Gold 23, who is already in the backcourt, then touches the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SE Michigan - Little help here? dsqrddgd909 Basketball 8 Fri Jul 10, 2009 08:24pm
How do you become a ref in Michigan? laurengb Basketball 12 Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:12am
Tennessee vs. Michigan Mountaineer Softball 30 Thu Jun 01, 2006 07:39am
Michigan St. vs. Duke. Jerry Blum Basketball 40 Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:35pm
No books in Michigan mick Basketball 0 Tue Aug 29, 2000 01:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1