The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2013, 07:23pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,478
Video Request: Indiana at Minnesota

With about 12:40 in the first half there is a 3 point shot that went in the basket and there was a foul while the ball was being shot against Minnesota who was on defense. The officials count the basket and give the ball back to Indiana.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2013, 08:06pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
NFHS, this is correct, if the foul was after the shooter releases the ball. Count the bucket and ball goes back to IU. I don't know the rule for NCAA.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2013, 08:24pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
NFHS, this is correct, if the foul was after the shooter releases the ball. Count the bucket and ball goes back to IU. I don't know the rule for NCAA.
The rule is the same for NCAA. It just is a good example of what the rule is as it is rare.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2013, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
10:37 of the 2nd half is a good example of the C coming late to get a play in his secondary that the L likely couldnt see as it was right on top of him.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2013, 07:46am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
With about 12:40 in the first half there is a 3 point shot that went in the basket and there was a foul while the ball was being shot against Minnesota who was on defense. The officials count the basket and give the ball back to Indiana.

Peace
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The rule is the same for NCAA. It just is a good example of what the rule is as it is rare.

Peace
I made this same call in my last college game of the season. In my game I thought the ball-handler was about to make an entry pass and I was surprised when I saw the ball going through the hoop Most definitely a play in which I had been more patient with my whistle.

Unlike the official last night I knew right away that the basket counted.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2013, 10:55pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 07:35am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 22,972
Ncaa ??? Nfhs ???

Are NCAA rules regarding this situation the same as NFHS rules? In NFHS games, the foul makes the ball dead, not the whistle. Also, in NFHS games, continuous motion would apply because the foul was on the defense.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:21am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Are NCAA rules regarding this situation the same as NFHS rules? In NFHS games, the foul makes the ball dead, not the whistle. Also, in NFHS games, continuous motion would apply because the foul was on the defense.
There are no differences in the rules between NCAA and NFHS concerning dead balls and whistles.

And the foul did not make the ball dead. And did you miss my post above?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I made this same call in my last college game of the season. In my game I thought the ball-handler was about to make an entry pass and I was surprised when I saw the ball going through the hoop Most definitely a play in which I had been more patient with my whistle.

Unlike the official last night I knew right away that the basket counted.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Feb 28, 2013 at 09:57am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:31am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post

And the foul did not make the ball dead. And did you miss my post above?

you mean the one in which you dislocate your shoulder trying to pat yourself on the back?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
NFHS, this is correct, if the foul was after the shooter releases the ball. Count the bucket and ball goes back to IU. I don't know the rule for NCAA.
Actually, scoring the goal is correct if the foul occurred AFTER THE PLAYER BEGAN THE ACT OF SHOOTING. The ball does NOT have to be released for the try to count. Continuous motion applies to any foul by the defensive team, including those not committed against the shooter.

Unfortunately, I have seen several officials screw this up.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:59am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Actually, scoring the goal is correct if the foul occurred AFTER THE PLAYER BEGAN THE ACT OF SHOOTING. The ball does NOT have to be released for the try to count. Continuous motion applies to any foul by the defensive team, including those not committed against the shooter.

Unfortunately, I have seen several officials screw this up.
You're right. I had this play twice this year. Both on rebounding action when the defense was pushing guys clear across the lane.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 09:03am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I usually get this once a season or so for some reason.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 03:23pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Actually, scoring the goal is correct if the foul occurred AFTER THE PLAYER BEGAN THE ACT OF SHOOTING. The ball does NOT have to be released for the try to count. Continuous motion applies to any foul by the defensive team, including those not committed against the shooter.

Unfortunately, I have seen several officials screw this up.
What is the rules reference for this?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 03:30pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
What is the rules reference for this?
4-11-1

Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 03:56pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 965
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
4-11-1

Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.

Peace
Thanks. Haven't screwed this up yet and now I won't in the future (hopefully)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VC vs Xavier video request justacoach Basketball 0 Sat Feb 23, 2013 04:19pm
video request for APG SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 1 Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:00am
APG Video Request stiffler3492 Basketball 0 Thu Nov 15, 2012 08:13pm
Another video request bainsey Basketball 23 Tue Jun 12, 2012 05:00pm
APG Video Request stiffler3492 Basketball 57 Thu Dec 01, 2011 06:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1