The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 10:20am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
Travel or Not

A1 jumps for a rebound, catches ball off the ground. Lands on both feet. Jumps to shoot and realizes he is to far under the goal to shoot. Throws ball to the ground, returns to floor and dribbles. Partner calls travel. I think it is right according to 4.44.3. Any other thoughts? Coach said he could do this.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 10:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
A1 jumps for a rebound, catches ball off the ground. Lands on both feet. Jumps to shoot and realizes he is to far under the goal to shoot. Throws ball to the ground, returns to floor and dribbles. Partner calls travel. I think it is right according to 4.44.3. Any other thoughts? Coach said he could do this.
Coach is full of it. You cannot lift the pivot foot before starting a dribble. The rules do not permit a player to circumvent this by jumping before establishing a pivot foot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
A1 jumps for a rebound, catches ball off the ground. Lands on both feet. Jumps to shoot and realizes he is to far under the goal to shoot. Throws ball to the ground, returns to floor and dribbles. Partner calls travel. I think it is right according to 4.44.3. Any other thoughts? Coach said he could do this.
No other thoughts needed, other than the coach was wrong. If you leave your feet holding a live ball inbounds the menu is pretty short: pass it or shoot it before you come down.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 10:26am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
No other thoughts needed, other than the coach was wrong. If you leave your feet holding a live ball inbounds the menu is pretty short: pass it or shoot it before you come down.
Or, request a timeout.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
A1 jumps for a rebound, catches ball off the ground. Lands on both feet. Jumps to shoot and realizes he is to far under the goal to shoot. Throws ball to the ground, returns to floor and dribbles. Partner calls travel. I think it is right according to 4.44.3. Any other thoughts? Coach said he could do this.
I had the exact same play happen last week (except the player jumped around the free throw line) and the same reaction from offending players coach?! I sort of laughed when he initially questioned because I thought he was joking, then I realized he really thought it was legal. Seemed like a simple rule a V head coach should know but I explained it to him in a non-laughing manner.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 11:04am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
I thought it was a no brainer also. I kind of chuckled when the coach said that. Told him no it's a travel. He told me later he was going to have to look it up. I said it's under the traveling section of the case book.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
4.44.3 b
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 11:23am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
4.44.3 b
Yea. It's in the opening post.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
He told me later he was going to have to look it up.
Don't hold your breath waiting for him to 1) actually look it up and 2) admit he was wrong.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 12:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mplagrow View Post
Don't hold your breath waiting for him to 1) actually look it up and 2) admit he was wrong.
I'm still waiting on an email from a coach showing me the rule that says a defender can't slap the backboard while the ball is "on the rim."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 01:20pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I'm still waiting on an email from a coach showing me the rule that says a defender can't slap the backboard while the ball is "on the rim."
"Has to be a technical foul, well then it has to be basket interference" is what a coach told me when this happened earlier this year.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 01:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
A1 jumps for a rebound, catches ball off the ground. Lands on both feet. Jumps to shoot and realizes he is to far under the goal to shoot. Throws ball to the ground, returns to floor and dribbles. Partner calls travel. I think it is right according to 4.44.3. Any other thoughts? Coach said he could do this.
The more I think about this, the more I think this is a case of the coach knowing too much of the wording of the rules. He thinks he has found a loophole since the player hasn't established a pivot foot; not knowing the case play specifically closes that loophole.

Or, he complains about every single call that goes against him.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 01:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
"Has to be a technical foul, well then it has to be basket interference" is what a coach told me when this happened earlier this year.
He calls for a timeout to get "an explanation." We talked for about 20 of his 60 seconds, and the conversation went like this.

"He can't hit the backboard when the ball is on the rim."

"Yes, he can since he was trying to block the shot."

"Not when the ball is on the rim."

"That doesn't matter."

"Show me in the rules where it says he can do that."

"You'll have to show me where it says he can't."

"Ok, I'll do that."

"Don't do it here, though."

"No, of course not."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2013, 04:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 22,315
Still Waiting ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
"Show me in the rules where it says he can do that."
"You'll have to show me where it says he can't."
"Ok, I'll do that."
"Don't do it here, though."
"No, of course not."
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA jump stop Basketball 52 Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm
travel or not? yankeesfan Basketball 10 Thu Jan 19, 2006 02:05pm
travel or not? johnfox Basketball 11 Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:33pm
Travel or Not?? ref18 Basketball 2 Wed Jan 21, 2004 08:50pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1