![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'd have no issue telling the coach that BY RULE the clock stops when the whistle sounds, and he/she needs to account for the reaction time of the official when requesting a time-out.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm not going to punish a properly requested T.O. because I spit my whistle out of my mouth and couldn't alert the timekeeper. I think there is enough verbiage in the rulebook i.e. "the whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead", "spirit of the rules", etc. In Georgia, we have a RULE - no free throws are shot with no time on the clock 0:00. You must put time back up there if you clearly heard your whistle before the horn.
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
|
Understood. Officiating here is ran by a former Women's college guy and have a lot of Women influence in other leadership areas. For example, we use Women's floor coverage area instead of Fed coverage. The time "remaining time" guideline comes out of the Women's side.
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
When it's coming from the head of a state association, it's not ignoring rules so much as changing rules. And presumably, Georgia has forfeited it's input to the NFHS rules committees for not fully adopting the NFHS rules.
|
|
|||
|
I wouldn't comment publicly on your ignore or change comment regarding the rules BECAUSE it does come from the head of our State association. But, our guy currently sits on the rules committee and his picture is prominently displayed in the rulesbook. I'm not really certain of his term expiration, though.
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
|
Aren't states allowed to adopt their own rules?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Sure. But in doing so, they risk losing their vote on Rule Committee rule change votes.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
What is the NCAAW rule?
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
|
Charged Timeout, Ball Becomes Dead ???
After almost sixty posts, I want to make sure that I have this straight.
Most would agree that, in regard to a charged timeout, the ball doesn't become dead when the coach requests the timeout. Has there been a consensus that the ball does become dead when the official grants the timeout, and have we decided that the granting and the whistle sounding occur at the same time, and that any movement of the clock after that can be changed if there is definite knowledge by the official?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In a game without a courtside monitor, the score is tied when the referee calls a shooting foul on Team A’s unsuccessful attempt: (1) At approximately the same time as the game-clock horn sounds to end the game; or (2) With four seconds remaining on the game clock. RULING: (1) When the official determines that the foul occurred before the sounding of the game-clock horn, and signals for the clock to stop and the timer fails to stop the clock, a timing mistake has occurred and the official shall put time back on the clock as to when the foul was called. In this case, A1 is awarded two free throws. When A1 makes the first shot, the game is over. However, when the official signals for the clock to stop and it is so near the expiration of time that the timer is unable to stop the clock, this is not a timer’s mistake and time should not be placed back on the game clock. When the official determines that the foul occurred before the sounding of the game-clock horn, A1 is awarded two free throws. When A1 makes the first shot, the game shall be over. On a foul that occurs near the expiration of time, officials must determine that the clock did not stop when the whistle sounded because a timing mistake occurred or because it was so near the expiration of time that the timer is unable to stop the clock. In the first case, time is put back on the game clock and in the second case, it is not. It's also covered in AR 146. And, I think it's for both NCAAW and NCAAM |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Game clock shows time remaining in time-out -- against the rules? | Lotto | Basketball | 7 | Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:10am |
| Putting Time on the Clock for Requested Time Out | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 10 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:20pm |
| Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster | SoInZebra | Basketball | 122 | Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm |
| Another long time listener, first time caller | Fifth And Goal | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am |
| When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? | Deion | Softball | 1 | Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am |