The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Time out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94027-time-out.html)

Raymond Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 879358)
I'm not directing this at you so much as I'm just saying it but it is one thing to adopt some philosophies based upon your upbringing, so to speak, but it's another to flat out ignore rules. I don't like that at all.

Aren't states allowed to adopt their own rules?

JRutledge Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 879340)
I must be missing something (besides my coffee). How is the NCAA rule different in this situation?

If you have an inadvertent whistle, the casebook says you do not grant those timeouts.

Here is a play that shows what I am talking about.

Timeouts Not Charged
A.R. 155. Player A1 is airborne and momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds. A1, while airborne and in control of the ball, requests a timeout. The official:

(1) Inadvertently blows the whistle; or
(2) Blows the whistle and immediately grants a timeout.

RULING: In both (1) and (2), the officials shall not recognize this request. The official’s whistle is an inadvertent whistle that caused the ball to become dead. Play will be resumed at the point of interruption by awarding the ball to Team A, the team in control, at a designated spot nearest to where the ball was located. Before placing the ball at Team A’s disposal for a throw-in, the official is permitted to inquire as to whether Team A still wants a timeout.
(Rule 4-39, 4-53.1.a, 5-12.1.c and 7-5.16)

Peace

Raymond Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 879481)
If you have an inadvertent whistle, the casebook says you do not grant those timeouts.

Here is a play that shows what I am talking about.

Timeouts Not Charged
A.R. 155. Player A1 is airborne and momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds. A1, while airborne and in control of the ball, requests a timeout. The official:

(1) Inadvertently blows the whistle; or
(2) Blows the whistle and immediately grants a timeout.

RULING: In both (1) and (2), the officials shall not recognize this request. The official’s whistle is an inadvertent whistle that caused the ball to become dead. Play will be resumed at the point of interruption by awarding the ball to Team A, the team in control, at a designated spot nearest to where the ball was located. Before placing the ball at Team A’s disposal for a throw-in, the official is permitted to inquire as to whether Team A still wants a timeout.
(Rule 4-39, 4-53.1.a, 5-12.1.c and 7-5.16)

Peace

Yep, time-outs incorrectly granted to a team not entitled to request one are treated as IW in NCAA-Men's.

JRutledge Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 879490)
Yep, time-outs incorrectly granted to a team not entitled to request one are treated as IW in NCAA-Men's.

Is it not the same in NCAA-Women ball?

Peace

Raymond Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 879492)
Is it not the same in NCAA-Women ball?

Peace

It might be but I didn't look it up so I didn't want to get attacked by villagers with torches if I got it wrong.

You know what happens if you inadvertently type something wrong around here. LOL :D

APG Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 879494)
It might be but I didn't look it up so I didn't want to get attacked by villagers with torches if I got it wrong.

You know what happens if you inadvertently type something wrong around here. LOL :D

Nothing...I just edit others till I'm right. ;)

JRutledge Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 879494)
It might be but I didn't look it up so I didn't want to get attacked by villagers with torches if I got it wrong.

You know what happens if you inadvertently type something wrong around here. LOL :D

My God yes!!!!

One advantages with my IPad is everything is right in front of me to cut and paste and double check. Otherwise people here are funny like that.

Peace

just another ref Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 879497)
My God yes!!!!

One advantages with my IPad is everything is right in front of me to cut and paste and double check. Otherwise people here are funny like that.

Peace

But technology can only go so far.:)

JRutledge Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 879503)
But technology can only go so far.:)

And thank you for proving BNR's point. ;)

Peace

just another ref Thu Feb 14, 2013 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 879504)
And thank you for proving BNR's point. ;)

Peace

You set it on a tee for me. I'm only human.:cool:

JRutledge Thu Feb 14, 2013 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 879507)
You set it on a tee for me. I'm only human.:cool:

And some people get off on different things. So I am not surprised. It bothered you, not me.

Peace

ronny mulkey Fri Feb 15, 2013 03:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 879367)
When it's coming from the head of a state association, it's not ignoring rules so much as changing rules. And presumably, Georgia has forfeited it's input to the NFHS rules committees for not fully adopting the NFHS rules.

I wouldn't comment publicly on your ignore or change comment regarding the rules BECAUSE it does come from the head of our State association. But, our guy currently sits on the rules committee and his picture is prominently displayed in the rulesbook. I'm not really certain of his term expiration, though.

ronny mulkey Fri Feb 15, 2013 03:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 879359)
Unless there's a monitor, then the rule as you've described it contradicts the NCAAW rule as well.

I find that interesting. Of course, it has never really been explained to me the origination of our rule, directive, guideline or whatever we call it when it comes from the State office.

What is the NCAAW rule?

Eastshire Fri Feb 15, 2013 07:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronny mulkey (Post 879605)
I wouldn't comment publicly on your ignore or change comment regarding the rules BECAUSE it does come from the head of our State association. But, our guy currently sits on the rules committee and his picture is prominently displayed in the rulesbook. I'm not really certain of his term expiration, though.

From what we're told in Ohio, if the state changes anything that isn't a state adoption, that state is supposed to be shut out of the rules committee process entirely from the questionnaire to sitting on the committee. So I'm left to wander if Ohio isn't telling us the truth or if the NFHS is just full of it.

BillyMac Fri Feb 15, 2013 07:38am

Charged Timeout, Ball Becomes Dead ???
 
After almost sixty posts, I want to make sure that I have this straight.

Most would agree that, in regard to a charged timeout, the ball doesn't become dead when the coach requests the timeout.

Has there been a consensus that the ball does become dead when the official grants the timeout, and have we decided that the granting and the whistle sounding occur at the same time, and that any movement of the clock after that can be changed if there is definite knowledge by the official?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1