The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaTerp View Post
I think about 1/100 of this post is NOT BS.

What does both this play have to do with a jump stop?
In my opinion you could use 2 rules to interpret the violation:

1st). Sec44 Art2.b.

. . . A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
.
If one foot is on the floor:
It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

2nd) Art. 3. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:
On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the pivot foot; When one foot is on the playing court:


You are correct the word "jump stop" is not in the rule book but this is the move "0" seems to be attempting rather than your typical "layup"
So , as far as breaking the rules he either: 1)didn't land simultaneously or 2) picked up pivot foot and returned to floor before passing or shooting

The real point is why didn't they call a violation: obviously these are 3 primetime officials or they wouldn't be working this game. None called a violation. So I try to get into the mind of why these high level officials only call this move a travel 1/100 times. I think it is because they question when the ball was gathered and don't split hairs on landing simultaneously.

So, like it or not , they typically let this go. Peyton Sive from Louisville will make this move 5 or 6 times a game and rarely does he land simultaneously.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 09:11am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by jump stop View Post
In my opinion you could use 2 rules to interpret the violation:

1st). Sec44 Art2.b.

. . . A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
.
If one foot is on the floor:
It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

2nd) Art. 3. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:
On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the pivot foot; When one foot is on the playing court:


You are correct the word "jump stop" is not in the rule book but this is the move "0" seems to be attempting rather than your typical "layup"
So , as far as breaking the rules he either: 1)didn't land simultaneously or 2) picked up pivot foot and returned to floor before passing or shooting

The real point is why didn't they call a violation: obviously these are 3 primetime officials or they wouldn't be working this game. None called a violation. So I try to get into the mind of why these high level officials only call this move a travel 1/100 times. I think it is because they question when the ball was gathered and don't split hairs on landing simultaneously.

So, like it or not , they typically let this go. Peyton Sive from Louisville will make this move 5 or 6 times a game and rarely does he land simultaneously.
Our association has told us that no matter when the ball is gathered, either before jumping or after jumping, it is a travel if they don't land simultaneously.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 09:17am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Our association has told us that no matter when the ball is gathered, either before jumping or after jumping, it is a travel if they don't land simultaneously.
That is incorrect. If you gather in the air you have no pivot foot. The first to touch the ground becomes your pivot foot.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Our association has told us that no matter when the ball is gathered, either before jumping or after jumping, it is a travel if they don't land simultaneously.
If this is true, your association is horrifically misguided.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 09:20am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse James View Post
If this is true, your association is horrifically misguided.
We've been told that they may pivot, if gathering the ball after jumping, but they must land at the same time. Just saying.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 09:22am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
We've been told that they may pivot, if gathering the ball after jumping, but they must land at the same time. Just saying.
Again, that is incorrect. Does this also apply to rebounders?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 09:24am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Our association has told us that no matter when the ball is gathered, either before jumping or after jumping, it is a travel if they don't land simultaneously.
If they gather with foot on the ground they can land on one foot and jump off that foot or on 2 feet simultaneously.

You guys need to scrap your jump stop training and start all over.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Louisville @ ND, Rich's video request #1 JetMetFan Basketball 25 Wed Feb 13, 2013 09:18am
Notre Dame to ACC....... HLin NC Football 1 Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:28pm
Notre Dame, UA interference call RKBUmp Softball 38 Mon May 28, 2012 10:37pm
Louisville/Notre Dame stiffler3492 Basketball 4 Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:18pm
Odd Notre Dame/GT question ToGreySt Football 5 Sun Sep 02, 2007 08:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1