![]() |
|
|||
Game Winner?
Kaelen Riley CHS vs Coosa - YouTube
My understanding is that the officials disallowed the basket. They ruled the first shot a pass, and a backcourt violation killed the shot. Thoughts? Last edited by APG; Sat Feb 02, 2013 at 01:29am. |
|
|||
If I have my facts straight, any "pass" that hits your backboard is considered a shot. Shot > no team control > ball retrieved in the backcourt > legal.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Quote:
Tough call to take the basket away...... ![]() |
|
|||
I'm OK with the call. I agree it was a pass (albeit a terrible one, though not as bad as it would've been as a shot). It barely hit the bottom of the backboard and there was a teammate on the left w/in a few feet who was likely the intended target.
Knowing the score would help. If they're down 2 or less, it lends more credence to the "pass" theory. Down 3 obv. helps the "shot" crowd. I think either side has a case. Judgment call and I've got no prob. with the judgment. Did everyone else have no volume on this? |
|
|||
If I have an untouched thrown ball that hits the backboard or rim, I'm judging it to be a try...then judging everything else accordingly.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. Last edited by APG; Sat Feb 02, 2013 at 02:28am. |
|
|||
I would call this a try. Too much to guess otherwise.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
If it was a pass, even a bad one, there was no loss of team control and the backcourt violation was correct. There was clearly plenty of time to get the ball into the frontcourt for a better shot and there was no reason for that guy to be shooting when he had open teammates farther down the court. He released it as a pass so it was a pass. That kinds of situation is what we get paid for and we have to judge it for what it was, not what we can default to in order to avoid making a tough call. If he was fouled at that moment and the video cut off with the ball in mid-flight I'd bet that a large majority of people wouldn't even consider that it was a shot.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Feb 02, 2013 at 03:45am. |
|
|||
You don't need player control in the frontcourt.
Though that is the way the rule is worded, that's not what the NFHS means, and you can see that in their Backcourt case plays. You need player control to have been established inbounds and a ball with frontcourt status. They really need to reword the rule. Very poorly done. |
|
|||
Misty Water Color Memories ...
Not back when the NFHS first adapted the three point shot. If, in the judgment of the official, it was indeed a "pass", then it would have counted as only two points. I don't recall that rule, or interpretation, lasting very long.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
I think I'm counting that one.
I forwarded the clip to a friend and he says BC violation. Either way, it was a very poor pass attempt. And it was a very poor shot attempt. I think a question to ask is, "does intent have any factor in our ruling", or "does the the mere fact that it hit the backboard make it a shot"? I think we give the benefit of the doubt and hammer it home.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 5-2-1. A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points.The fact that they list it as a 3rd option in addition to a try or tap implies that it is not actually a try or a tap. If it was, they would have said that a successful thrown ball is a try and therefore 3 points. But, they don't. It is just declared directly as 3 points without making it a try so none of the other element that related to be being a try come into play.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Feb 02, 2013 at 01:20pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Need help from the pros - Can the winner of the | kidclutch | Football | 36 | Thu Mar 15, 2007 06:50pm |
bracket winner? | xxssmen | Basketball | 8 | Tue Apr 06, 2004 05:08pm |
We have a winner!!! | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 13 | Tue Apr 22, 2003 08:54pm |
And the Winner Is..... | rainmaker | Basketball | 7 | Thu Aug 29, 2002 03:15pm |