The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2013, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
No answers? I'm assuming these were the most missed questions for a reason; the answer must not be what most of us think it is.
None of them are really that hard. I was waiting for others to comment but since it has been pretty quiet...


Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Here are the five questions most missed on the IAABO exam last November.

*A-1’s throw-in is deflected into the backcourt by A-2, who is in the frontcourt. A-1 is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct?
Correct. A backcourt violation is not possible until after there is team control inbounds. A2's deflection does not establish team control.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
*Prior to the game, team A is assessed a technical foul. While the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower B-1, the official has the scorer set the possession arrow toward team A’s basket. Is the official correct?
Incorrect...the arrow is set at the FT only for a common foul. For non-common fouls, it is set when the subsequent throwin is administered.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
*B-1 rebounds a missed try at A’s basket and passes the ball to a teammate near the division line. A-1 jumps from his/her frontcourt and secures control while both feet are off the floor. A-1 lands in the backcourt. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct?
Legal. A1 gained team control of a ball that was in control of team B while in the air. A1 gets to land normally with one or both feet in the backcourt and it doesn't matter where the first foot down lands.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post

*A-1 commits his/her fifth foul and is disqualified. Prior to A-1 being replaced, team A requests a timeout. The official denies the request. Is the official correct?
Correct...the game can not proceed until a DQ'd player is replaced.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post

*Jumper A-1 taps the ball which hits the floor and jumper A-1 catches it. The official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?
Correct. The jump ball and the jump ball restrictions end when the ball touches the floor (or a non jumper). At that point, any player can catch the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jan 24, 2013 at 04:49pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1