The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Butler-Gonzaga finish (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93602-butler-gonzaga-finish.html)

JetMetFan Sun Jan 20, 2013 05:55pm

Quote:

Are you looking at the clock above the backboard, or the "clock" on the espn score display at the bottom of the screen?
I was looking at the clock on the ESPN display which, in this case, happened to be one of the scoreboard clocks. I know there's a bit of a lag in the arena but it shouldn't be that bad.

JRutledge Sun Jan 20, 2013 06:01pm

If you saw the broadcast and the angle from under the basket (camera under the basket to be specific), you could see the other end's light and it looked like the ball was out. BUt the light did appear to start to come on with .01 on the shot clock display version of the game clock. I have not seen this in highlight versions.

Peace

bob jenkins Sun Jan 20, 2013 06:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 873319)
I was looking at the clock on the ESPN display which, in this case, happened to be one of the scoreboard clocks. I know there's a bit of a lag in the arena but it shouldn't be that bad.

There was some picture last year where the clock on the back board was zero and the clock on the facade of teh second level in the arena was x.

It can happen.

Raymond Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 873325)
If you saw the broadcast and the angle from under the basket (camera under the basket to be specific), you could see the other end's light and it looked like the ball was out. BUt the light did appear to start to come on with .01 on the shot clock display version of the game clock. I have not seen this in highlight versions.

Peace

I saw that too.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 21, 2013 05:16pm

Anyone think that Jones traveled before releasing his try?

JugglingReferee Mon Jan 21, 2013 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 873465)
Anyone think that Jones traveled before releasing his try?

If you use YT in HTML5 mode, additional playback options become available, and using those controls, it certainly looks like he may have.

fullor30 Tue Jan 22, 2013 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 873230)
You have to be F.K.M. Dipping his shoulder and creating contact? Classic fan-boy statement.

Agreed, If I was forced to make a call either way, I'd have a block.

MD Longhorn Tue Jan 22, 2013 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 873229)
My point exactly: When a defender leans and leans, and then clearly pushes with an extended arm, we now call that "incidental contact" simply because the offended player does not fall to the floor. And we wonder why we have trouble with flopping.

When we have bodies on the floor, we have to call something. But if we have an obvious push and the player does not fall down, it's incidental contact. Think of the foolishness of that philosophy.

LOL. You don't officiate do you? What you consider "clearly" is something I don't see at all.

Raymond Tue Jan 22, 2013 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 873652)
LOL. You don't officiate do you? What you consider "clearly" is something I don't see at all.

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...ck-charge.html

Dipping the shoulder seems to be a POE for the good doctor.

#olderthanilook Tue Jan 22, 2013 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 873219)
The guy who stole the ball in the final seconds last night committed two fouls. Of course, no "good official" would ever call either one in that case. But by rule both were fouls. He pushed the big kid out of the way (leaning on him AND extending the arm on the push)... Then he committed an offensive fould by dipping his shoulder and creating contact, which gave him a clear advantage by creating space.

It's too bad that basketball is not officiated by the rules. It would make the game much better.

I agree there was a push on the inbounds play to creat space to catch.

Video clearly shows A1 does not dip his shoulder on the dribble drive.

APG Tue Jan 22, 2013 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 873664)
I agree there was a push on the inbounds play to creat space to catch.

Video clearly shows A1 does not dip his shoulder on the dribble drive.

Where is this magical interpretation that states if one shoulder is lower than the other, then it's an offensive/player control foul?

just another ref Tue Jan 22, 2013 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 873664)
I agree there was a push on the inbounds play to creat space to catch.

Video clearly shows A1 does not dip his shoulder on the dribble drive.

Here's a good example of different takes on the same play.

I don't see a push, or at least not one worthy of a call. The offensive player went one way, the pass went the other. In the process of disengaging, the defender extended his arms. Play on.

I think the video clearly shows that A1 does dip his shoulder, (slightly) but dipping one's shoulder is not in and of itself illegal.

#olderthanilook Tue Jan 22, 2013 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 873675)
here's a good example of different takes on the same play.

I don't see a push, or at least not one worthy of a call. The offensive player went one way, the pass went the other. In the process of disengaging, the defender extended his arms. Play on.

I think the video clearly shows that a1 does dip his shoulder, (slightly) but dipping one's shoulder is not in and of itself illegal.

No way! You're wrong!! LOL

#olderthanilook Tue Jan 22, 2013 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 873670)
Where is this magical interpretation that states if one shoulder is lower than the other, then it's an offensive/player control foul?

The OP states A1's shoulder dips (thereby implying A1 fouled B1). I'm merely stating the video clearly shows the offensive player doesn't dip his shoulder.

jar clearly disagrees. ;)

APG Tue Jan 22, 2013 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 873685)
The OP states A1's shoulder dips (thereby implying A1 fouled B1). I'm merely stating the video clearly shows the offensive player doesn't dip his shoulder.

jar clearly disagrees. ;)

Didn't mean that to be directed necessarily at you....I just don't like the term in general and don't use it. It sends up warning flags to me, much like an official that uses something along the lines of getting a player with the body in trying to explain a foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1