![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Now, it might have been a Simultaneous T, but it doesn't seem so from your description. I'm not quite sure what "unsportsmanlike contact" is (A1's foul), but it reads that B's reaction was to the foul call, not to A's actions. |
|
|||
By definition it is a false double foul.
What that means in English, you apply both penalties in the order they occured. This is why I say you really do not call a false double foul, it happens based on circumstances. But if you want to win a rules trivia question it is a false double foul. Shoot the FTs for anything that took place if necessary. Then shoot the FTs by Team B, then Team A, then A gets the ball at the division line and continue play. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
The description sounds more like a simultaneous technical foul. Both players commited technical fouls, they didn't commit them against each other and they were at approximately the same time (i.e., during the same dead ball).
Before anyone breaks down "approximately," consider other situations where this happens: a fight breaks out on the court, A6 leaves his bench area then, say, ten seconds later B6 leaves his bench area. Both receive flagrant technicals (NFHS) and those fouls are considered simultaneous technicals (10-4-5). As to the OP, my feeling is the play was handled correctly. A1 picks up a T for unsportsmanlike conduct. While the official is reporting/as the official is about to report that foul, B1 picks up a T for unsportsmanlike conduct. The Ts then become simultaneous. No FTs for those. Just deal with the penalty for the initial foul on A1.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
My rule of thumb, which I originally read on this site a long time ago, is that it's a double foul (or simultaneous) if they happen quickly enough that you don't have time to spit the whistle out.
If you call one foul and have enough time to spit out the whistle and have to put it back in to call the second one, it's false double. It's not perfect, but it works for me. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
When all else fails, look in the Case Book
8.6.2 SITUATION C: During the dead-ball period immediately following a goal by A1, B1 is charged with an unsporting technical foul for using profanity toward A1. A few seconds later, A2 is charged with an unsporting technical foul for taunting B1. Are free throws awarded or are the fouls considered to have occurred simultaneously with offsetting penalties?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
False double, false multiple, double TF, bench personnel TF. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 14 | Fri Dec 17, 2010 04:27pm |
False double technical? | jritchie | Basketball | 6 | Tue Nov 04, 2008 01:16am |
False Double Technical??? | joseph2493 | Basketball | 24 | Mon Oct 24, 2005 10:12am |
False Double Technical Foul | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 9 | Wed Mar 10, 2004 05:56pm |
False Double Technical? | RookieDude | Basketball | 2 | Fri Nov 23, 2001 10:04pm |