The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 10, 2013, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member

Traveling question

I had a game last night where I had an official tell me you get 2 and a half steps before it is a travel. I know as a coach I make mistakes with rules all the time but I have never heard of 2 and a half steps for a travel before. Have I just been misunderstanding the rules all these years or did he make a mistake?
Old Thu Jan 10, 2013, 06:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member

Who You Gonna Call ???

The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or request a timeout. If the player is flat on his or her back, that player may sit up without violating.