The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2013, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
The "situation that leads to the discovery" is irrelevant. The goaltending violation, along with everything else that happens prior to the discovery of the officials' error, is to stand, and be treated as though the teams were going in the proper directions.
NCHSAA read 4-5-4. After the GT is called the mistake was recognized. Count the basket and get everyone going the proper direction.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2013, 11:35pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHSAA View Post
Since there was no goaltend the only means of determining control was the arrow. Which favored Marquette since UConn won the tip, even going the wrong way.
If there's no GT, then there's no try, then there's still TC.

IW gives the ball back to the team with TC.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2013, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
If there's no GT, then there's no try, then there's still TC.

IW gives the ball back to the team with TC.
Who had control?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2013, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 201
What is the difference then in the case book play where you have a foul and the ball goes in if going the wrong direection??? You still do not count the basket and you correct off of that.

You cannot disregard NCAA 4-73 (Page 64)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2013, 11:58pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHSAA View Post
Who had control?
The team last in control is still in team control, because, by your logic in this play, there wasn't a try.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1