The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
There's nothing that requires them to break at the first horn. Absolutely nothing.
But they are to be ready to play by the 2nd horn....which allows them to be anywhere on the court at that time. So, at what time can they be anywhere?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 01:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Nothing in the rules prevents B from standing near A's huddle once B has released their players from the timeout huddle.

I'm still moving them away before the first horn, but I will step in if I see them leaning in. That' just unsporting. As for the coach from A going stupid, that's getting shut down quick.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 02:14pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Nothing in the rules prevents B from standing near A's huddle once B has released their players from the timeout huddle.

I'm still moving them away before the first horn, but I will step in if I see them leaning in. That' just unsporting. As for the coach from A going stupid, that's getting shut down quick.
I'd get them out of there, regardless. I don't need a special rule to prevent stupidity on the court. I'll give them plenty of time to get the position they want before the ball's put in play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 02:43pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich View Post
i don't need a special rule to prevent stupidity on the court.

+1
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
C'mon guys!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
I'd get them out of there, regardless. I don't need a special rule to prevent stupidity on the court. I'll give them plenty of time to get the position they want before the ball's put in play.


Exactly.

A single 60-second time-out charged to a team shall not exceed one minute and shall be conducted within the confines of the time-out area.

That tells me a team should be within their own time-out area and not in the other team's area. When Team B players come into Team A's area and "lean" into their conference, that's the type of thing that starts fights. Unsporting acts are not limited to those specifically identified in the rule book. Yeah, I'm whacking that.

The game has got to be managed better than allowing this type of thing go on.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Yeah, I'm whacking that
I'd at least address it, if not whack it the first time it happened, especially if it's more than one player. If it's just the inbounder and he;s just moving to / toward the spot, maybe there's more leeway.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 09:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I'd at least address it, if not whack it the first time it happened, especially if it's more than one player. If it's just the inbounder and he;s just moving to / toward the spot, maybe there's more leeway.
Inbound was on same end as team A, baseline opposite benches. Was 3 of the 5 members of B.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2012, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
Inbound was on same end as team A, baseline opposite benches. Was 3 of the 5 members of B.
Yep, no call for that whatsoever. Whack.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1