![]() |
|
|
|||
Coach on the floor?
Had good/heated district game last night, 2 good teams. 4 pt game in 4th quarter, A1 and B1 coming up floor kinda bumped each other coming through traffic on fast break around mid court, when they got to 3 pt line they bumped again which wasn't accidental, Whistle double foul, then they get in each others face, whistle double T, I quickly jump in between players and other players come running up and grab own players to pull them away, the away coach from far end, comes running on floor, i would assume to make sure things were okay and no fight would occur. Question?
Assignor is at the game, comes in the locker room and asked why we didn't throw the coach? quotes rule 10.4.5 If a coach leaves the bench and enters the floor without being beckoned by the offical for any reason this is a flagrant technical foul and is disqualified. I tried to explain that if there is a possibility of a fight a coach is allowed on the floor, he said we had it under control and he shouldn't of came on and should of been ejected or at the least T'd up. 1. what is rule for coach being allowed on floor to help with fight? am at work and can't look it up right now. 2. what do you all think? T warranted? ejection? We talked about it as a crew and thought that the coach was okay on the floor getting his players and pulling them back to his bench and that the T, would of definitely not been good for the game at that point of the game. Visitors ended up winning by 4 and sinking 2 free throws with 2 seconds to ice the game.
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
Rule 10-4-5
Leave the confines of the bench during a fight or when a fight may break out. NOTE: The head coach may enter the court only if beckoned by an official. emphasis added Case Play MTD, Sr. references below: Rule: 10.4.5 10.4.5 SITUATION B: A fight breaks out between A1 and B1 during a dead-ball and clock-stopped situation. The head coach of Team A rushes onto the court. RULING: A1 and B1 are charged with flagrant technical fouls and are disqualified. No free throws are awarded for the double technical foul by A1 and B1. Since the coach was not beckoned onto the court by an official, he/she is charged with a *flagrant technical foul and is disqualified. Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table. Last edited by dsqrddgd909; Thu Dec 20, 2012 at 11:26am. |
|
|||
Quote:
JRitchie: Your assigner was referring to NFHS Casebook Play 10.4.5 SITUATION B, and per rule he is correct. The HC, during a fight, is not to enter the court unless beckoned onto the court by the officials. That said, I would take a wait and see approach. When we have a volatile situation such as yours, the HC (and even the ACs) can be your crew's best friend. If he comes onto the court to take control of his players then I have nothing, BUT if he comes and does just about anything else (join the fight or gets confrontational with anyone) then he gets the big WHACK! MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
In that situation, coach is always retroactively beckoned in games.
Then again, since he's your assignor, you should have tossed the coach because he said he should have and he's your boss.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
If things are going in that direction and the coach is helping getting the situation under control there's no way I'm whacking him. Like APG said, he's "beckoned." |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
The call shouldn't change based on the attendance of the assignor. If your local group has previously accepted that this case is a retroactive beckon, then no flagrant. With no previous group-wide policy, you have to go with the DQ.
Now, if your group wishes to use this incident as the catalyst for setting a local policy, then I say whatever you called is correct.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
(Counting on the wisdom of those who have been in this sitch, as I have not yet. Not trying to be argumentative...)
So what do we say when the assignor says "I didn't see or hear you beckon him."? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
NCAA rules allow the coach to come on the floor as long as he is helping. 10.6.2.j |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Coach walks off floor....with players | NYBLUE | Basketball | 29 | Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:36pm |
injury coach on the floor | lpbreeze | Basketball | 5 | Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:19am |
Coach on floor | lukealex | Basketball | 1 | Mon Feb 06, 2006 02:21pm |
Coach writes on floor | footlocker | Basketball | 18 | Mon Mar 22, 2004 06:55pm |
A helpful Ref-Coach on the floor | mick | Basketball | 4 | Sat Jun 21, 2003 06:34pm |