The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93249-throw-play.html)

APG Sun Dec 16, 2012 02:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 867083)
4-42-4 say the throw in count stops on the release of the throw in pass. 10 second count wont start until touched by A. Correct?

Nope

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 867077)
Starts when there's player control in the backcourt when a player comes from a throw-in. All rules pertaining to a 10 second count, 3 second count, and backcourt violations are adjudicated the exact same way as before team control was added to the throw-in.


OKREF Sun Dec 16, 2012 02:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 867088)
Nope

I wasn't asking about 10 second count. I am asking when does the five second throw in count stop. 4-42-4 says the count ends when the ball is released by the thrower and goes directly into the court. So if A1 rolls the ball into the court, not over he OOB line, the five second count ends, when it leaves the throwers hands.

APG Sun Dec 16, 2012 02:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 867083)
4-42-4 say the throw in count stops on the release of the throw in pass. 10 second count wont start until touched by A. Correct?

That's what I'm answering...a 10 second count (nor a 3 second count or any backcourt violation provisions) won't start until player control has been established.

OKREF Sun Dec 16, 2012 02:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 867092)
That's what I'm answering...a 10 second count (nor a 3 second count or any backcourt violation provisions) won't start until player control has been established.

Got it. Thanks, I meant controlled when I typed touched. My bad.

just another ref Sun Dec 16, 2012 02:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 867091)
I wasn't asking about 10 second count. I am asking when does the five second throw in count stop. 4-42-4 says the count ends when the ball is released by the thrower and goes directly into the court. So if A1 rolls the ball into the court, not over he OOB line, the five second count ends, when it leaves the throwers hands.

The question was answered already along with the cite of the rule. Are you asking if this changes if the ball is rolled, as opposed to released on a pass?
The answer is no. If the release is legal the count ends. If the release is not legal, the count ends anyway on the violation.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 16, 2012 03:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 867082)
Does that mean, for NCAA-M, in that the old "B deflects A1's front court pass to A2 into A's backcourt" play, that the 10-second court shouldn't start until there's player control established again by A? That's how that rule reads, to me. Just curious.

No, the 10 second count starts the moment the ball gains BC status (hits the floor). There is already team control by A inbounds and B's deflection doesn't change that. A is not permitted to be in continuous team control of a ball in the backcourt for more than 10 seconds.

The other plays discussed where player control is mentioned in the backcourt are different because the ball was coming from a throwin, not from a pass between inbounds players.

BillyMac Sun Dec 16, 2012 10:15am

Misty Water Color Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 867066)
Inbounds pass is rolled on the floor. When does 5 second count stop.

Back thirty years ago, when the inbounds pass is touched by a player inbounds. No longer applies in the twenty-first century.

HawkeyeCubP Sun Dec 16, 2012 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 867099)
No, the 10 second count starts the moment the ball gains BC status (hits the floor). There is already team control by A inbounds and B's deflection doesn't change that. A is not permitted to be in continuous team control of a ball in the backcourt for more than 10 seconds.

The other plays discussed where player control is mentioned in the backcourt are different because the ball was coming from a throwin, not from a pass between inbounds players.

Is that delineated somewhere in the NCAA books? Because the way the rule reads leads me to believe otherwise.

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCAA Rule Book
Section 10. (Men) 10-Second Violation
The 10-second count shall begin when a player is in control of the ball in his back court. An inbounds player (and his team) shall not be in continuous control of a ball that is in his back court for 10 consecutive seconds.


Camron Rust Sun Dec 16, 2012 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 867138)
Is that delineated somewhere in the NCAA books? Because the way the rule reads leads me to believe otherwise.

I believe that is in context of a throw in....that the 10 count doesn't start until there is player control. There doesn't have to be player control to have the count if the ball is already inbounds.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1