![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
He was table side. Walked up the court towards the table, coach right on his heels. Not everyone heard it, however everyone at the table heard it.
|
|
|||
|
I ask these silly questions because I have learned that there are ways to avoid those situations. Obviously this coach went a little nuts. BUT, have you ever noticed that if you walk by a barking dog in a cage, the closer you get the louder they bark? Step back and they quiet down a little.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Other times they just go more nuts...dogs and coaches. As Rich and Tom both have pointed out, there are nice rules of thumb, but sometimes the rules of thumb just don't fit. This OP sounds like one of those times... For the record, I have ejected three coaches also in over 20 years of officiating. In all 3 cases I gave all the Ts involved. One instance was a case where a coach jumped up and yelled at an opposing player "You little motherf---er" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think that in the OP, this crew might not have been able to avoid it. However, there are also mechanics that could have limited this coaches access to the official, i.e. switching on fouls. In the OP, they did not switch: Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
That makes more sense. Sorry, that was bothering me since I first read it.
|
|
|||
|
I cannot think of a single time I have ever used the stop sign on a coach, or told a coach to sit down and be quiet or shut up or stop talking, etc...as an adult, I would not respond well to someone doing that to me. So I say things like "OK, Coach. You made your point. Time to move on."
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I always cringe when I hear partners tell stories that involve them telling a coach to "Sit down and be quiet". I have discovered that a simple "That's enough" or "I've heard enough" works just fine most of the time. I use the stop sign sometimes depending on the situation.
|
|
|||
|
Interesting. Say no one else heard it, but the official, is a technical merited? Moreover, is the ejection of the coach merited?
What is put in the report? Can it be corroborated? (playing Devil's Advocate here) |
|
|||
|
If a coach tells me a call I made is bullsh*t he is geting a technical foul. I once had a coach whisper to me that he was getting cheated. I gave him a T. He said why did I give him a T. Nobody in the gym heard him say it but me. I just told him he wasn't going to call me a cheater even if I was the only one who heard it.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Outside the coach's box | junruh07 | Basketball | 13 | Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:48pm |
| What's the coach's name? | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 8 | Tue Apr 21, 2009 07:57pm |
| Does a coach's leash... | RollTide | Basketball | 10 | Tue Jan 10, 2006 08:33pm |
| Coach's Tip-Off | parepat | Football | 4 | Wed Nov 05, 2003 06:30pm |