![]() |
|
|
|||
Sideline position?
Looking for rule pertaining to defensive positioning on this play: A1 is advancing ball up sideline in backcourt. B1 takes a position (established) in front of A1, but with one foot on out of bounds line. Contact then occurs when A1 attempts to go around B1, but does not have enough room without going out of bounds himself. Is it legal or not for B1 to have the one foot oob?
|
|
|||
B1's position is not legal, making him liable for a foul for any contact. Being inbounds is a condition of both acquiring and maintaining LGP. 4-23-2, 3
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
If the defense has one foot out of bounds and one foot in bounds, I and every official I know here has a block on any contact.
Case Book 4.23.3 A1 is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (A) one foot touching the sideline...... Ruling: In (A) B1 is called for a blocking foul because a player may not be out of bounds and obtain or maintain legal guarding position. I really don't understand why this is difficult. If a defensive player is on the line or out of bounds and there is contact it is on the defense. |
|
|||
Quote:
B1 is stationary. B1 has done nothing wrong. This is not a foul on B1.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Sideline Warning/Sideline Interference | Brandon Kincer | Football | 16 | Sat May 23, 2009 09:33am |
LGP and the Sideline | grunewar | Basketball | 2 | Thu Mar 19, 2009 07:18am |
body position for Position B and C | tibear | Baseball | 66 | Thu Jun 26, 2008 02:27pm |
Windup position - position of pivot foot | BigGuy | Baseball | 3 | Thu May 31, 2007 02:21am |
Legal Guarding Position on sideline | CoachW | Basketball | 8 | Mon Mar 01, 2004 02:54pm |