The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 01, 2012, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
It seems that the case play and rule as written are contradictory on this scenario. Isn't B still on defense in this play? Even thought the throw in has ended because of B1's tip, B is still on defense as A still is in team control. B2 secures the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt.
Article 3 states "During a jump ball, throw-in or while ON DEFENSE, a player MAY JUMP HIS/HER FRONTCOURT, SECURE CONTROL OF THE BALL WITH WITH BOTH FEET OFF THE FLOOR AND RETURN TO THE WITH ONE OR BOTH FEET IN THE BACKCOURT. the player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

What am I missing?
No.

That element is referring to REAL team control. The whole definition of team control has been really confused by the NFHS.

Through the various interpretations and explanations that have been given by the NFHS, you can basically consider the defined "TEAM CONTROL" and everything that depends on team control to begin when a player holds or dribbles the ball in bounds (when player control begins). Separately, you can consider any foul by the throwing team during a throwin as a team control foul even though there is not actually "TEAM CONTROL".

What they're really after is two levels of team control....one that begins on the throwin and affects only fouls and another that begins when a player catches/dribbles the ball inbounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 01, 2012, 11:05pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No.

That element is referring to REAL team control. The whole definition of team control has been really confused by the NFHS.

Through the various interpretations and explanations that have been given by the NFHS, you can basically consider the defined "TEAM CONTROL" and everything that depends on team control to begin when a player holds or dribbles the ball in bounds (when player control begins). Separately, you can consider any foul by the throwing team during a throwin as a team control foul even though there is not actually "TEAM CONTROL".

What they're really after is two levels of team control....one that begins on the throwin and affects only fouls and another that begins when a player catches/dribbles the ball inbounds.
Ok. Makes sense. Hope I remember all of it when it happens in a game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt question bainsey Basketball 45 Wed May 26, 2010 01:55pm
Backcourt Question bigdog5142 Basketball 78 Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:20am
Another Backcourt Question. Sorry! Rick Durkee Basketball 23 Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:38pm
backcourt question timharris Basketball 7 Sun Jan 09, 2005 12:14pm
Another backcourt question ken roberts Basketball 6 Thu Dec 16, 1999 02:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1