The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 10:51am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
After watching this several times and looking at the rulebook. Neither player stays within his vertical plane. Maybe it is a no call. Had the offense gone straight up and stayed in his vertical plane, than yes a foul on the defense would be warranted, but he doesn't he jumps outside of his vertical plane.
No rule requires a player to remain in his "vertical plane." Doing so is no guarantee that a player's actions are legal, and failing to do so is not as such illegal. This worry is a red herring.

The shooter is allowed to drive to the basket, and the defender to block his progress, provided each does so legally.

And whether their movements leading up to contact are legal is, of course, the question.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 10:57am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by maven View Post
No rule requires a player to remain in his "vertical plane." Doing so is no guarantee that a player's actions are legal, and failing to do so is not as such illegal. This worry is a red herring.
Really? If the offense and defense both jump straight up and are vertical, and the offensive player extends his arm to clear out the defense, he has not stayed in his vertical plane. Same for the defense, they may extend their arms but must stay in their vertical plane when doing so.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Really? If the offense and defense both jump straight up and are vertical, and the offensive player extends his arm to clear out the defense, he has not stayed in his vertical plane. Same for the defense, they may extend their arms but must stay in their vertical plane when doing so.
"Leaving the vertical plane" (sic) is not, in and of itself, an infraction. "Leaving the vertical plane and causing contact" might be.

That was the point.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 11:10am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
"Leaving the vertical plane" (sic) is not, in and of itself, an infraction. "Leaving the vertical plane and causing contact" might be.

That was the point.
Agreed. In the video, the defense jumps and has a right to come down, the offense jumps out of his vertical plane and creates the contact. Turn it around. What if the offense jumps and prior to returning to the floor the defense jumps out of his vertical plane and creates contact with the offense. We have a foul on the defense.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 11:15am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
BTW does Love jump towards the basket or sideways? I think sideways.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Agreed. In the video, the defense jumps and has a right to come down,
Reference, please. Not saying you're wrong, I just can't place it in my mind's eye copy of the rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 12:01pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Reference, please. Not saying you're wrong, I just can't place it in my mind's eye copy of the rule book.
I don't know that its in there. Just an assumption that an airborne player has the right to land without someone contacting him. I am probably wrong.


Maybe 4-19-1.

Last edited by OKREF; Tue Nov 27, 2012 at 12:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
I don't know that its in there. Just an assumption that an airborne player has the right to land without someone contacting him. I am probably wrong.


Maybe 4-19-1.
4-19-1 says "airborne shooter". The defensive player cannot be an airborne shooter (or at least he isn't in this play).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Common Shooting Foul Followed by a Technical Foul tophat67 Basketball 9 Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:57am
Foul where distance gained prior to foul wwcfoa43 Football 15 Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:04pm
Can you just call a team foul if you are not sure who the foul is on? Diebler biggravy Basketball 18 Sun Dec 13, 2009 07:20pm
offensive foul, defensive foul or no call? thereluctantref Basketball 2 Mon Mar 13, 2006 01:12pm
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game BktBallRef Basketball 10 Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1