![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
When "simply" means "shoulda". Agreed, that's what you would have wanted, but in case of a screw-up, like not getting those guys there or if the coach just wants to talk to one of the two guys he's wants in the spots, do you wait on him? Or, if you are the administering official and you bounce the ball to the shooter and then realize something doesn't look right...while the shots on the way and then missed, you're wracking your brain to remember what to do.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
There are 5 correctable errors... 4 involve free throws. Make sure you take your time. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Doesn't he have 4 other players that can occupy those two spots????? You give a reasonable opportunity to get two players in the spot. If they continue to delay, you whistle the T. Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
(It's never gone further than that.) |
|
|||
|
Resumption Of Play ???
Even if it's not after an intermission, or a timeout? If it is not after a timeout, don't we just use the resumption of pay procedure, put the ball at the disposal of the free thrower, and then just let the chips fall where they may?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Different procedure if after a time out ...
10.1.5 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled by B1 during an unsuccessful try and is awarded two free throws. Team B requests and is granted a charged 60-second time-out. Team B disregards the 15-second warning signal and the signal ending the time-out and is still huddling with their coach at the end of the charged time-out. RULING: The official shall administer the first free throw using the resumption-of-play procedure and a violation occurs if it is missed. If two B players are not in the required position when the official is ready to put the ball in play for the substitute throw, a delay of game technical foul will be assessed. If the first attempt is good, the same procedure is used for the second. (9-1-2; 10-1-5b)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
|
|||
|
Ahhh ... I see. Then tell Billy to stop it.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Not after a TO -- lower spaces must be filled or it's a T. (The same is true for the FT shooter.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Pretty sure that is not even remotely what he is indicating. If you ask the coach to get 2 players in those spots and he refuses or ignores the request, then the T. For me, this would only happen if I've exhausted all reasonable attempts to get the coach to comply.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NHSF "intentional" vs NCAA "flagarent" terminology | Duffman | Basketball | 17 | Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:15pm |
| Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? | fiasco | Basketball | 46 | Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am |
| ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight | pizanno | Basketball | 27 | Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am |