The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2012, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
A.r. 104

From this years NCAA casebook; it's a little different from the OP's original question as this situation occurs BEFORE the FT is shot by A1.

A.R. 104. Before a free throw by A1 is in flight, A2 pushes B2, then A3
steps into the free-throw lane too soon. The bonus is in effect for
both teams.

RULING: The foul by A2, which created a false double foul, is a
team-control foul and causes the ball to become dead immediately.
Consequently, A3’s violation shall be ignored. A1 shall attempt the
free throw(s) with no players on the lane and when the last try is successful,
Team B shall have the privilege to run the endline. When the
last try is unsuccessful, play shall be resumed by awarding Team B the
ball for a throw-in at a designated spot closest to where the teamcontrol
foul occurred.
(Rule 4-29.4 and 8-6.1)

My question is this: If the foul by A2 is deemed to be a "team control" foul, then why is A1 allowed the 2nd FT? Thanks for your responses.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2012, 01:12pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Why wouldn't A1 shoot his FT's? He's still entitled to shoot them. The fact that there was a team control foul just means that FT's won't be shot for that particular foul.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2012, 03:49pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
My question is this: If the foul by A2 is deemed to be a "team control" foul, then why is A1 allowed the 2nd FT? Thanks for your responses.
Because false double fouls carry their own penalties. You can't penalize one until the previous penalty is completed.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2012, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Why wouldn't A1 shoot his FT's? He's still entitled to shoot them. The fact that there was a team control foul just means that FT's won't be shot for that particular foul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Because false double fouls carry their own penalties. You can't penalize one until the previous penalty is completed.
I was under the impression that a TC foul would be treated like any other in that no points could be scored by the team in control of the ball and part of the penalty would be treated like a violation during a FT.

Thanks for the clarification; really appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with a Sitch.. jmaellis Softball 15 Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:53pm
Sitch Skahtboi Softball 27 Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:11am
Sitch whiskers_ump Softball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2006 09:37pm
Sub sitch........ zebra44 Basketball 2 Sat Jan 29, 2005 12:09am
Out of box - sitch mick Basketball 5 Wed Sep 04, 2002 02:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1