Thread: NCAA sitch
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 12:37pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Yes, that's what I'm saying. And if B is in the bonus, you'll head to the other end and shoot.

I see no rule basis for disallowing the second shot. This is a classic false double foul, each carrying its own penalty. The penalty for the first is a one and one, which means a second shot if the first is successful. There's no rule that allows the official to negate a part of this penalty. What's your logic?

As for high school, I could see it happening with a hold or push that wasn't intentional. Not likely, as I've never seen it, but it's not unthinkable.
Agree...first shot remains live if it was released prior to the foul. If not released, it is dead but it isn't canceled, it is just administered after the foul is reported.

And yes, it is not hard for a foul to occur without a violation before the FT restrictions end (whether that point is on the release or when the ball hits). The FT restrictions only limit extending the feet outside the lane space. The arms are not restricted....so a foul could easily occur. Maybe not likely, but very possible. Alternately, the foul could just involve players not along the lane.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote