The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
hmm, this is an interesting one. I'm not sure about that, but then again I'm not sure either way. In the case of say a jump shot, the shot would still count, so why would it be different here. I would conjecture that based on logic and how this is handled during a jump shot count the FT but they don't get a second one.

I actually can't wait to learn how this should be adjudicated because this is a pretty good case play.

In HS the only issue would be that the only players who could commit this foul without violating first would be the players behind the three point arc. Either way nice scenario.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 11:13am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Why wouldn't he get the second one?

If you call off the shot, he needs the replacement shot. Either way, you clear the lane for the shots, then give B the ball at the spot nearest the foul.

There are plenty of ways this could happen along the lane without a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Adam, I am trying to think in HS how this could happen along the lane without a player violating since the ball hasn't hit the rim or backboard AND not committing an act that is intentional (IE. two-handed shove), and for the life of me I can't envision it. In college I completely agree with your statement.

My hang up was the second shot and I would like a rule or casebook citation as this is one area that I agree with your ruling, and mine also makes logical sense as well.

So you are saying that the first FT counts and then the lane is cleared for the second?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 11:34am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Adam, I am trying to think in HS how this could happen along the lane without a player violating since the ball hasn't hit the rim or backboard AND not committing an act that is intentional (IE. two-handed shove), and for the life of me I can't envision it. In college I completely agree with your statement.

My hang up was the second shot and I would like a rule or casebook citation as this is one area that I agree with your ruling, and mine also makes logical sense as well.

So you are saying that the first FT counts and then the lane is cleared for the second?
Yes, that's what I'm saying. And if B is in the bonus, you'll head to the other end and shoot.

I see no rule basis for disallowing the second shot. This is a classic false double foul, each carrying its own penalty. The penalty for the first is a one and one, which means a second shot if the first is successful. There's no rule that allows the official to negate a part of this penalty. What's your logic?

As for high school, I could see it happening with a hold or push that wasn't intentional. Not likely, as I've never seen it, but it's not unthinkable.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Yes, that's what I'm saying. And if B is in the bonus, you'll head to the other end and shoot.

I see no rule basis for disallowing the second shot. This is a classic false double foul, each carrying its own penalty. The penalty for the first is a one and one, which means a second shot if the first is successful. There's no rule that allows the official to negate a part of this penalty. What's your logic?

As for high school, I could see it happening with a hold or push that wasn't intentional. Not likely, as I've never seen it, but it's not unthinkable.
Agree...first shot remains live if it was released prior to the foul. If not released, it is dead but it isn't canceled, it is just administered after the foul is reported.

And yes, it is not hard for a foul to occur without a violation before the FT restrictions end (whether that point is on the release or when the ball hits). The FT restrictions only limit extending the feet outside the lane space. The arms are not restricted....so a foul could easily occur. Maybe not likely, but very possible. Alternately, the foul could just involve players not along the lane.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 12:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Seems to me a foul off the lane here would be more likely to be ruled intentional.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
hmm, this is an interesting one. I'm not sure about that, but then again I'm not sure either way. In the case of say a jump shot, the shot would still count, so why would it be different here. I would conjecture that based on logic and how this is handled during a jump shot count the FT but they don't get a second one.
A try is a try -- whether it's a try from the field or a FT. The ruling is the same.

Most college officials would get this one right, I would hope.

And, in HS, you cn commit a foul without violating -- most foulds are committed with the hands / arms / torso and most violations involve a step with the foot.

Now, a I agree maybe a more patient whistle could have avoided the situation, but I wasn't there to see it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Yup the logic seems sound. Why should a player not be entitled to finish his 1&1 and still get the second shot? That does make sense. The only loop for me was the NEXT FT, I would have counted the first one anyway, I would have kicked the part after that.

Glad we straightened it out.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with a Sitch.. jmaellis Softball 15 Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:53pm
Sitch Skahtboi Softball 27 Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:11am
Sitch whiskers_ump Softball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2006 09:37pm
Sub sitch........ zebra44 Basketball 2 Sat Jan 29, 2005 12:09am
Out of box - sitch mick Basketball 5 Wed Sep 04, 2002 02:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1