![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
2008-2009 Case Book 2.10.1 SITUATION G: A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is
awarded a one-and-one. The error is discovered: (a) after A1 makes the first throw; (b) after A1 makes both; (c) after B1 has rebounded the miss on the sec- ond free throw; (d) after B1 has the ball for a throw-in after both attempts are successful; or (e) after B2 has control of the throw-in from B1 after A1's two successful throws. RULING: In (a) and (b), the successful free throw(s) is canceled, and A1 is given the ball for a throw-in at the spot out of bounds nearest to where B1 fouled originally. In (c), (d) and (e), the successful free throw(s) are canceled and play continues with a throw-in by B as B had the ball when the game was interrupted for correction. I don't want to be anywhere near coach A when I hand B1 the ball |
|
|||
|
Hopefully in those cases coach A is the home team, so you can tell him it was his table that screwed up...
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
4-36-2a doesn't apply as during the dead ball following the erroneous FT neither team was in control. So go to 4-36-2b. If we cancel the FT, one can certainly contend that Team A is entitled to a throw-in from the foul. Therefore, this rule would apply and the throw-in spot would be from the location that it should have occurred. The problem is that part b doesn't match up with the text of the rule. After two successful FTs, Team B would now be entitled to a throw-in along the endline. That is the POI. It is Team B's ball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Second, give it to the team entitled to a free throw or throw-in. A is entitled to a throw-in due to a common foul. B was entitled to a throw-in due to a made basket but that basket has been cancelled. Why then would B still be entitled to the throw-in? We don't reach the third step. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|