Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Once again, you failed to answer the question.
"It isn't intended to apply to a player who was near OOB and happens to be on the line when a player comes along and runs into them."
Where can I read a rule, case play or interpretation that supports this?
|
You need to find a rule that says it is illegal.
The standard is that if it is not illegal, it is legal.
Nowhere in the rule book says it is a foul to be contacted while OOB. It only says you don't have LGP while OOB...and the case book, in the section covering GUARDING, says it is a block when contact occurs with a defender who is GUARDING (because it is in the section defining guarding) while OOB....and the reason is that they don't have LGP.
Now show me a case or rule that says a rule on guarding applies to non-guarding situations.