The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2001, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Question

Here's another one on those situations I can't find in the rule or case book and looked silly trying to explain my ruling to two coaches who both want it to go their way.

A1 is dribbling the ball from his backcourt toward his frontcourt along the sideline on the table side of the court. B1 establishes a legal guarding position on the same sideline, except one of his feet is on the line. A1 crosses the division line, charges B1, and is called for a player control foul. Since the call was viewed by both coaches, there were some different opinions as to the ruling.

B's coach is glad to take the player control call, but A's coach loudly insists that B1 cannot be in a legal guarding position if one of his feet is out of bounds, therefor the call should be a block.

My explaination to the coaches is that a charge is a foul if it is deliberate even if it occures out of bounds, but I don't have a rule to back it up.

Have any of you ever had this situation come up? Please kick it around and see if you can come up with an explainable ruling.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1