![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Wow!
Quote:
My understanding of LGP is solid. You have made the wrong assumption that LGP is only necessary for a moving player. That is wrong in some cases. The case play noted above for one. The rule book doesn't even say that LGP is only necessary for a moving player. You are inferring that. Let me try and state this another way. If a stationary player does not have LGP in some instances the defender is more responsible for the contact. Again, my classic example. B2 has obtained LGP against A2 (ie both feet on the floor and torso facing the defender). That is definitely the requirement for obtaining LGP. Now A1 gets by B1. B2, who has not established LGP on A1, moves to block A1's path up the court. In doing so B2 has one foot in and one foot out. He does not have LGP. B2 is more responsible for the contact. Unless A1 does something like pushing off or a forearm to the head or chest or if A1 could have avoided B2, I have a block on B2. He did not have LGP. In this instance it is required. It is not open season on B2. There are some things that I will still call a foul on A1 for. But in the event that a crash was inevitable and A1 did nothing excessive, I have a block on B2. Why? Because having one foot in bounds and one foot out is not a legal guarding position. We don't officiate in a vacuum. There are many things to take into consideration. However, a stationary player WHO IS PLAYING DEFENSE AGAINST AN OPPOSING PLAYER can be called for a foul because they don't have LGP. In this instance. Not in every instance. Remember, I am the one staying away from blanket statements. That's why the foul is called on B2. Because they did not legally obtained LGP when the contact occurred. How else do you get a block on this play? What rule? There is no rule regarding a defender being out of bounds and being called for a foul for being out of bounds other than the LGP. You can not be out of bounds and play defense. Well you can, but you MAY be called for a foul in doing so. Why? Because of the LGP principle. Does that mean that every foul will be called on the defender in this case? No. But it does put more responsibility on the defender in this case.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association Last edited by rwest; Wed Nov 14, 2012 at 03:44pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Contact with extended elbow | KCRef | Basketball | 1 | Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:18pm |
| NFHS Points of Emphasis | Grail | Basketball | 18 | Tue May 30, 2006 06:19pm |
| Contact with elbow | bseybs32 | Basketball | 14 | Wed Feb 08, 2006 01:40pm |
| RE: NFHS 2005 Points Of Emphasis | whiskers_ump | Softball | 12 | Wed Oct 06, 2004 01:04pm |
| Offensive player initiating contact with lead elbow | Paul Janssen | Basketball | 2 | Mon Jan 20, 2003 10:40pm |