The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   When FC/BC status begins (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92065-when-fc-bc-status-begins.html)

MD Longhorn Fri Jul 20, 2012 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 849462)
Agreed. In this case the initial bat does not define a dribble until it strikes the floor and subsequently remains in control of the player making the steal.

I see this as totally different than the player who has ended a dribble, then pushes the ball toward the floor, intending to start another, even if it strikes something else instead.

I see it the same. While you might be 99% sure of intent, you can't know it. It may appear to be the beginning of an illegal dribble, but it isn't one until it actually becomes a dribble. For all you know he may push the ball to the floor and then get out of the way of it - making it not a dribble.

Adam Fri Jul 20, 2012 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 849581)
We have a player establishing player and team control with a dribble with one foot in the FC, one foot in the air, and the ball in the BC (first bounce on the division line). So I see this as team control being established with the ball not having FC status, due (in the spirit of if not in the fact of) the three points rule.

Change the scenario ever so subtly.
B1 is standing, and with one foot in the FC and the other in the air bats a pass from A1 to the floor and proceeds to dribble twice before putting the other foot in the bc. Violation. 3 points does not apply. Letter or spirit.

Rob1968 Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:11am

Clarification of ball location
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 849374)
A-1 makes a bad cross-court pass that's easily stolen by B-2, who steals it with one hand and immediately starts a dribble.

Here's the crux: When B-2 starts this her dribble, she has a foot in the air, one in the FC (about 10 inches from the division line), and her dribble hits the division line. When did status begin, when she immediately touched the ball (resulting in a violation), or when the dribble is established (no violation)?

When A-1 made the errant cross-court pass, which was intercepted by a bat by B-2, was A-1 in her frontcourt - (B's backcourt) or was she in A's backcourt - (B's frontcourt) ?

It seems that the originating location of the ball could be significant, regarding a ruling of whether the interception by B-2 constituted a backcourt violation.

Adam Sun Jul 22, 2012 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 849626)
When A-1 made the errant cross-court pass, which was intercepted by a bat by B-2, was A-1 in her frontcourt - (B's backcourt) or was she in A's backcourt - (B's frontcourt) ?

It seems that the originating location of the ball could be significant, regarding a ruling of whether the interception by B-2 constituted a backcourt violation.

Why would it matter?

BktBallRef Sun Jul 22, 2012 09:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 849626)
When A-1 made the errant cross-court pass, which was intercepted by a bat by B-2, was A-1 in her frontcourt - (B's backcourt) or was she in A's backcourt - (B's frontcourt) ?

It seems that the originating location of the ball could be significant, regarding a ruling of whether the interception by B-2 constituted a backcourt violation.


Makes no difference. The discussion centers on what point the ball is caused to go from FC to BC by B2. The status of the ball prior to that is immaterial.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1