The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2012, 01:00pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
A1 drives to the basket and attempts a layup. B1, trying to block the shot, smacks the backboard so hard that the entire basket shakes for a couple of seconds while the ball is on the ring. The ball does not go in. What's the call?
What's your opinion based on rules you have read?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2012, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Thumbs up

Under NFHS rules, as the question is written, I got nothing. Crowd and coach will be screaming, but we all know how much they know about the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2012, 03:46pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I believe the call is "something."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2012, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
ok, the call is legal shot block attempt. No whistle, play on
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2012, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd66 View Post
no whistle, play on
+1
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2012, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
NFHS Case Book, Rule 10-3-4 (edited)

A1 tries for a goal, and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket...

RULING: In (a) legal and the basket counts...

COMMENT: The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-6.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2012, 05:46pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
And if it happens 10 times that night, the same guy will yell every time: "That's a T, ref! He can't slap the board like that!"
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To call or not to call.............goaltending that is! SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 3 Sat Feb 12, 2011 06:31pm
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1