![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I could very easily have a flagrant foul. At minimum, it's an INT.
In FIBA, it's a minimum UNS foul, possibly DQ. In either ruleset, I hope I'd lean towards a DQ if I saw the elbow to the head.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
|
Quote:
NFHS rule set, I have intentional. I'm not quite sold on flagrant, as I believe the intent was to push with the arm, not the elbow.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
|
As a GU alum I'm willing to be charitable and leave it as a Flagrant 1. It was excessive/unnecessary but not severe.
I also have it as a live ball foul. The contact took place before the try entered the basket.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
|
I probably would go with an intentional/FF1 on this. I just am wondering where the contact first took place, in the chest or in the head and I would be more sold on the actual call either way.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
A question: Can they go to the monitor even though a foul was not called? I was under the impression that they could upgrade a foul, but in this case, none of the officials actually called a foul - they all have open hands up in the air. So is it correct procedure to go from nothing to an FF1?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
2. When officials err and fail to observe the fouls according to 2-13-2.d.1 or a fight, they are permitted to correct and penalize these infraction(s), with the use of a monitor review, when the act occurs: a. When the game clock was stopped, it must be corrected: 1. During the first dead ball after the clock was properly started. b. When the game clock was running, it must be corrected: 1. During the first dead ball after the clock was properly stopped; or 2. Before the second live ball when the ball became dead after a successful goal but the clock continued to run. Basically it's handled like a correctable error.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Georgetown/Memphis | Juulie Downs | Basketball | 14 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 02:02pm |
| Nova vs Georgetown | grunewar | Basketball | 83 | Mon Mar 03, 2008 07:57pm |
| Georgetown/Providence | MOofficial | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 19, 2008 09:06am |
| Georgetown/UNC | tomegun | Basketball | 4 | Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:11pm |
| Virginia-Georgetown | TGR | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 20, 2000 09:30am |