The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2003, 11:04am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Here's the reason we were talking about it last night.

In our second game, first quarter, Team A shooting two. As the first shot goes up, B1 reaches out puts his hand firmly in the chest of A2 and just shoves him backwards. Notice I said, "FIRST SHOT." That was not a typo. He fouled on the first of two. I called a foul, and then my partner told me it had to be either a technical or an intentional. We decided that we didn't want to deal with the fall-out of that, and Coach A was oblivious, so we shot it as a common foul.

Talking about it on the way home, we couldn't remember what the rule was. The ball was live, but the clock was stopped. I felt like calling a T for idiocy, but didn't think that would fly. Looking through the book last night, I couldn't find an exact reference. Any suggestions?
Juulie,take a look at casebook play 4.19.2(c).It's just a simple personal foul.If A's in the bonus,A1 will shoot his second shot with the lane clear,then A2 shoots the bonus with the teams lined up.If A isn't in the bonus,A1 shoots his second FT with the lane clear,then team A gets the ball OOB on the baseline for a spot throw-in.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 24th, 2003 at 11:08 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1