The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2012, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
I think he means the passer/"shooter" gets fouled on the pass/shot.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2012, 03:25pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Under NFHS, or any other rule set, the OP situation is impossible.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2012, 03:40pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
I think he means the passer/"shooter" gets fouled on the pass/shot.
No, he is right, I mean the intended recepient of a "thrown ball" (full court baseball pass; alley oop). If we are initially judging the "thrown ball" as not being a shot how do we adjudicate the following situations if foul occurs while ball is airborne:
  • Intended target A2 pushes B2 and thrown ball hits rim
  • Intended target A2 pushes B2 and thrown ball enters basket
  • B2 fouls intended target A2 and thrown ball enters basket

But yes, let's add in A1 getting fouled while throwing the pass and it 1) enters the basket or 2) hits the rim.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2012, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
No, he is right, I mean the intended recepient of a "thrown ball" (full court baseball pass; alley oop). If we are initially judging the "thrown ball" as not being a shot how do we adjudicate the following situations if foul occurs while ball is airborne:
  • Intended target A2 pushes B2 and thrown ball hits rim
  • Intended target A2 pushes B2 and thrown ball enters basket
  • B2 fouls intended target A2 and thrown ball enters basket

But yes, let's add in A1 getting fouled while throwing the pass and it 1) enters the basket or 2) hits the rim.
My badd, I read it wrong.

In all situations I guess the first thing would be to determine if it was a shot or pass. The calling official on the intended receiver plays is definitely going to need some help.
The calling official on passer plays has got some explaining to do as well.
If its not an end of quarter situation, that definitely helps draw conclusions.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1