The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Iw? T?

Comments, please: Team A is out of timeouts nearing the end of a tie ballgame. They have possession of ball but get trapped on baseline, at their end of court. T (on bench side) thinks he hears A HC call a TO and hits whistle. Coach gives him a look of disbelief and says "I said 'get it out', not time out. I'm out of timeouts, why would I call one". What to do now? Give back to A under inadvertant whistle rule? Call T on A for excessive time outs?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 354
Send a message via AIM to Jeremy Hohn Send a message via Yahoo to Jeremy Hohn
Start the inbound process over again, and know your situation!
__________________
www.pbboa.org
www.gsoa.org
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 08:38am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Benefit of the doubt. Tap your chest and administer A's throw-in.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Comments, please: Team A is out of timeouts nearing the end of a tie ballgame. They have possession of ball but get trapped on baseline, at their end of court. T (on bench side) thinks he hears A HC call a TO and hits whistle. Coach gives him a look of disbelief and says "I said 'get it out', not time out. I'm out of timeouts, why would I call one". What to do now? Give back to A under inadvertant whistle rule? Call T on A for excessive time outs?
If it is a game under NFHS rules...simply follow this play ruling:

5.8.3 SITUATION E:
A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the
Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official;
or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her
team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out.
RULING:

In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and
granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges
and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.
Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In
(b), an inadvertent whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out,
and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the
point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 09:22am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Comments, please: Team A is out of timeouts nearing the end of a tie ballgame. They have possession of ball but get trapped on baseline, at their end of court. T (on bench side) thinks he hears A HC call a TO and hits whistle. Coach gives him a look of disbelief and says "I said 'get it out', not time out. I'm out of timeouts, why would I call one". What to do now? Give back to A under inadvertant whistle rule? Call T on A for excessive time outs?
Do you have any locals who are telling you to charge the time-out?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Thanks guys, looks like the crew (15-U AAU in TN) handled this one correctly as I suspected, although HC B was def wanting something else
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 09:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Thanks guys, looks like the crew (15-U AAU in TN) handled this one correctly as I suspected, although HC B was def wanting something else
Realistically, what else should Coach B expect to come from the IW?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 10:52am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
.....although HC B was def wanting something else
Like what? A beer?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Realistically, what else should Coach B expect to come from the IW?
Not sure, but prob his complaint was the IW let A out of the trap. He was about to (maybe) gain possession. Team A scored the gw a few passes later after the inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Team A scored the gw a few passes later after the inbounds.
*Ouch* Stuff happens, good thing the real trophies have already been given out!
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 02:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
*Ouch* Stuff happens, good thing the real trophies have already been given out!
Yep. Tough situation to be put into, but there's no way out without screwing one side or the other. I'd own up to it with B coach, "Coach, I messed up and thought I heard a timeout request. I was wrong, so I can't penalize them for that."

High school, I'd let him bend my ear for a few seconds. AAU, we're moving on and if he doesn't want to he'll get a quick warning.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2012, 06:31pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Comments, please: Team A is out of timeouts nearing the end of a tie ballgame. They have possession of ball but get trapped on baseline, at their end of court. T (on bench side) thinks he hears A HC call a TO and hits whistle. Coach gives him a look of disbelief and says "I said 'get it out', not time out. I'm out of timeouts, why would I call one". What to do now? Give back to A under inadvertant whistle rule? Call T on A for excessive time outs?
IW, naturally.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1