![]() |
Quote:
"This restriction shall not prohibit a defender, located within the restricted area, from attempting to block a shot." To me, the RA has always been about secondary defenders trying to get into position to draw a charge on an opponent. A defender who jumps verticality is not setting up to draw a charge, but playing active defense, and thus the RA shouldn't apply. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Hold up, wait a minute!
APG am I mistaken or is the RA only for block/charge situations?? If a 2ndary defender is in the RA & is NOT trying to draw a charge, but block a shot instead then everything RA related is off unless the offense does something illegal, no? We can still have a foul on the attempted blocked shot by the defender but we dont use the RA mechanic, right? |
Quote:
B1 -KU-0 jumps from RA toward the sideline putting himself into A1 path, my guestimate is about 2 feet of actual floor distance (B1 would have landed outside the RA with no contact from A1, enough to go into A1's path). A1 and B1 make contact, A1's contact was lower on B1 causing B1's feet to land nearer the endline, but offbalance stumbling forward as his upperbody is farther forward. Look past B1, at the blue lights/windows in the distance, can't see them now you do, B1 was moving forward. I am a KU fan and was surprised no foul was called after seeing APG's replay. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
I keep trying to see it as a foul, but every time I have a clean play. If I would have called this a foul I would have been kicking myself all the way to the table for not having a patient whistle.
|
I Had To Ask ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now in a 5th grade girls game, yes, call the foul. :D |
Since Bainsy seems to be getting beaten up in here
How can that much contact not result in a foul? You can say fans are stupid and don't know the rules (most don't and this is a true statement most of the time) but when they see a guy go up for a layup and get clobbered I don't think it is unreasonable to expect a foul call.
A1 is airborn before B1 even takes off, B1 comes in chopping downward hard and creates significant contact. He is not vertical at all, he comes from opposite side, he takes off in the middle of the circle and contact occurs outside the circle, he would have landed outside the lane if no contact. Whether he got ball clean up top before contact has nothing to do with anything. So by most in here the little guys should not even bother taking anything in the lane because if the big guy comes through you and gets ball first its not a foul??? And for those that didn't see the finish of the game, they called a touch foul on Missouri on an out of control KU player with 8 seconds left in OT for the go ahead free throws. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42pm. |