The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Clean Block or a Foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89561-clean-block-foul.html)

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 828446)
The principal of verticality, of course.

Okay, that's where we part ways. It's more visible from the end line camera (where we'd roughly be as the lead), but I clearly see the defender coming into the shooter. Had he stayed in his "phone booth," I'd have nothing.

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828448)
Okay, that's where we part ways. It's more visible from the end line camera (where we'd roughly be as the lead), but I clearly see the defender coming into the shooter. Had he stayed in his "phone booth," I'd have nothing.

Seriously?

So the defender jumps from just within the RA circle, and ends up landing about 3 feet BACKWARDS from where he jumped - because of the shooter jumping into him. And you are going to call a foul on the defender and tell the Coach "He didn't stay in his phone booth!"

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:16am

You're missing the point, Rock. Again, the defender clearly came into the shooter with body contact.

JRutledge Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828432)
Very well. Let's say there was no blocked shot on this play, only the body contact. What would you have then?

Not all body contact with an airborne shooter is a foul on the defender.

Peace

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:18am

The closer players get to the rim, more contact is certain to occur. When a buck & change meets 2 & change the smaller guy usually goes down. Its our judgment as to whether its a foul or not. From the Ls camera angle, dude got his shot wiped, felt some contact & hit the deck. Great CNC!

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828451)
You're missing the point, Rock. Again, the defender clearly came into the shooter with body contact.

I honestly am not seeing that in the video...are you sure you're not mistaking the fact that the shooter hit the defender in the mid-section (which caused the defender to fold up a little bit) for contact created by the defender?

asdf Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:24am

Not a foul in the first 10 seconds of the game....

.... and not a foul in the last 10 seconds of the game.

Solid judgement by the guys on this one.

Adam Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 828449)
Seriously?

So the defender jumps from just within the RA circle, and ends up landing about 3 feet BACKWARDS from where he jumped - because of the shooter jumping into him. And you are going to call a foul on the defender and tell the Coach "He didn't stay in his phone booth!"

Made me watch again. I'm even more convinced now that no-call is the best option here. The defender was jumping obliquely, and the shooter was moving into him. L had a great angle, and so does the camera. The camera from under the basket doesn't give a great angle, IMO.

Welpe Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:26am

Good observation rocky.

<s>You know if you look at it slow motion, the offensive player travels. And no, I'm not advocating calling that.</s> :D

Edit: Watched it again. Nevermind, no he doesn't.

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 828460)
Good observation rocky.

You know if you look at it slow motion, the offensive player travels. And no, I'm not advocating calling that. :D

It seems that so many videos that get posted have a travel in them that is not what the video was originally about.

No wonder traveling is a POE so often. :D

Welpe Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:30am

Check my edit, I changed my mind. He started his gather but bobbled the ball a bit. No travel. :)

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 828456)
I honestly am not seeing that in the video...are you sure you're not mistaking the fact that the shooter hit the defender in the mid-section (which caused the defender to fold up a little bit) for contact created by the defender?

No, the defender is clearly going into the shooter. The defender has a right to defend his spot on the floor up to the ceiling, not the spots in front of the spot.

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828465)
No, the defender is clearly going into the shooter. The defender has a right to defend his spot on the floor up to the ceiling, not the spots in front of the spot.

Is the shooter whos driving to the rack not moving into the defender as well?

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:44am

OK, not trying to be a jerk here, but is anyone else seeing what bainsey is saying? Honest question because maybe I am missing it somehow...I just don't see the defender jumping into the shooter - I see it the other way entirely.

Anyone else see the defender jumping into the shooter?

Raymond Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 828367)
But if there is contact sufficient for a block/charge foul, it will be a block due to the RA, even if his purpose was to block the shot.

....

Guidance below:

Quote:

Originally Posted by From the NCAA-M's Clinic
Intent/Rationale for Rule.

 The safety of both the offensive and defensive player involved in the block/charge is a concern and the use of a restricted area arc will eliminate some collisions near the basket. In recent seasons, the number of collisions near the basket and block/charge plays has caused the committee to study these plays. It is the committee’s belief that an offensive team player driving to the basket should be protected in this area.

Quote:

A.R. 123. Low-post player A5 spins and gets by defender B5. B4 comes from the weak side and establishes initial guarding position within the restricted area. A5 continues to move to the basket and:

(1) While airborne and shooting the ball, leans into and makes contact with B4; or
...

RULING: (1) B4 is a secondary defender and illegally established initial guarding position within the restricted area to stop A5’s try for goal. A blocking foul shall be assessed to B4.
...
(Rule 4-61 and 10-1.12)
Quote:

Fouls and Penalties. 10-1.12. A secondary defender as defined in Rule 4-61 cannot establish initial legal guarding position in the restricted area for the purpose of drawing a player control foul/charge when defending a player who is in control of the ball (i.e., dribbling or shooting) or who has released the ball for a pass or try. When illegal contact occurs within this Restricted Area, such contact shall be called a blocking foul, unless the contact is a flagrant foul.

a. When illegal contact occurs by the offensive player leading with a foot or unnatural, extended knee, or warding off with the arm, such contact shall be called a player-control foul....


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1