The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Clean Block or a Foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89561-clean-block-foul.html)

Spence Mon Feb 27, 2012 09:32pm

Clean Block or a Foul?
 
From the KU/Mizzou game Saturday.

Clean or foul?

Missouri Tigers vs. Kansas Jayhawks - Recap - February 25, 2012 - ESPN

twocentsworth Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:16pm

Defender goes straight up; shooter was responsible for the contact; good block on the ball..... I got nothing on this play.

VaTerp Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:52pm

I have a no call and it's really not close.

APG Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:59pm

Here's the play slowed down for convenience:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/DIgx-iYcnYA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

HawkeyeCubP Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 828352)
Defender goes straight up; shooter was responsible for the contact; good block on the ball..... I got nothing on this play.

The shooter is not responsible for the contact on this play, because it's a RA play, and the shooter's contact is not flagrant.

berserkBBK Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 828359)
The shooter is not responsible for the contact on this play, because it's a RA play, and the shooter's contact is not flagrant.

Are you saying this as just a point or do you have a foul on the defense for this?
I have a clean block even with the RA, so I am confused by your statement.

HawkeyeCubP Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 828360)
Are you saying this as just a point or do you have a foul on the defense for this?
I have a clean block even with the RA, so I am confused by your statement.

I'm not decided yet. I'm trying to translate it in my brain to a women's game. But to say that the shooter is responsible for the contact here implies that if a foul is to be called that it's a PC foul if anything, and that the defender, by virtue of having verticality, cannot be called for a blocking foul, which is not the case, as he established IGP in the RA, and the contact occured while he was over the RA. I'm not a great judge of men's plays like this though, I'll admit. I'd be curious to see it as a video play on Arbiter by Adams.

I'd like to twist it and hear opinions of the play by completely removing the block of the ball.

APG Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 828362)
I'm not decided yet. I'm trying to translate it in my brain to a women's game. But to say that the shooter is responsible for the contact here implies that if a foul is to be called that it's a PC foul if anything, and that the defender, by virtue of having verticality, cannot be called for a blocking foul, which is not the case, as he established IGP in the RA, and the contact occured while he was over the RA. I'm not a great judge of men's plays like this though, I'll admit. I'd be curious to see it as a video play on Arbiter by Adams.

I'd like to twist it and hear opinions of the play by completely removing the block of the ball.

How could you have a foul on the defender? The purpose of the RA is to stop secondary defenders from trying to draw a charge close to the basket. A defender is allowed to jump in an attempt to block the shot without worrying if he's in the RA or not.

JRutledge Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:02am

Clean block by not only a legal defender, but he got to the ball first too. I love how the media wants every little contact a foul. ;)

Peace

Camron Rust Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 828364)
How could you have a foul on the defender? The purpose of the RA is to stop secondary defenders from trying to draw a charge close to the basket. A defender is allowed to jump in an attempt to block the shot without worrying if he's in the RA or not.

But if there is contact sufficient for a block/charge foul, it will be a block due to the RA, even if his purpose was to block the shot.

That said....no foul....outstanding block.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:17am

APG - Help me understand your point by answering these questions. (And I'm not being antagonistic.)

1) Are you suggesting the contact here is not illegal, or is not illegal by virtue of the fact that he was attempting to block the shot?

2) Remove the defender jumping and the shot being actively blocked. Small guard jumping into large post who was at the spot in the RA before the shooter left the ground, and the shooter still ends up where he did in this play because of the contact with the vertical defender. What would your call be then?

zm1283 Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:30am

All of the Missouri fans here are claiming they were screwed and are using this play as their example. The funny thing is that the Kansas fans claimed they got screwed after they lost in Columbia earlier this season.

Fans are so stupid.

APG Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 828367)
But if there is contact sufficient for a block/charge foul, it will be a block due to the RA, even if his purpose was to block the shot.

That said....no foul....outstanding block.

You'll have to forgive me if I'm wrong...couldn't one argue that if a player is attempting to block the ball, then he's not trying to get an initial legal position for the purpose of drawing a player control/charging foul? I thought the interpretation would be similar to the NBA's in that the RA doesn't apply in the NBA when a player makes a legitimate attempt to defend the shot (and jumping vertically would definitely fit that bill).

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 828368)
APG - Help me understand your point by answering these questions. (And I'm not being antagonistic.)

1) Are you suggesting the contact here is not illegal, or is not illegal by virtue of the fact that he was attempting to block the shot?

2) Remove the defender jumping and the shot being actively blocked. Small guard jumping into large post who was at the spot in the RA before the shooter left the ground, and the shooter still ends up where he did in this play because of the contact with the vertical defender. What would your call be then?

1. I thought the play was legal. The offensive player jumps into a defender who alights vertically to block the shot. The block was clean the rest of the contact, IMO, is incidental.

2. That would be a play I would have to see. I'm imagine it being a block since I'm not imagining the player in your scenario attempting to defend the shot.

Again, I thought NCAA's interpretation with regard to the RA was similar to the NBA's in that it didn't apply to a player making a legitimate attempt to block a shot. Apparently I might be incorrect on my interpretation there.

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:57am

The arm is clean, but the body is dirty, dirty, dirty!

The view from the end-line camera is clear: The defender comes into the shooter, and is not straight up. I'm sending 1 black to the line for two shots, despite the chorus of boos.

JRutledge Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828377)
The arm is clean, but the body is dirty, dirty, dirty!

The view from the end-line camera is clear: The defender comes into the shooter, and is not straight up. I'm sending 1 black to the line for two shots, despite the chorus of boos.

I totally disagree that the body contact or the result of the body contact was the fault of the defender. The shooter was coming forward and fell mostly because he ran into a bigger player. At least from my judgment that is almost never a foul on the defender. And if at that level you call that a foul, you will not be around very long from my experience.

Peace

Camron Rust Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 828376)
You'll have to forgive me if I'm wrong...couldn't one argue that if a player is attempting to block the ball, then he's not trying to get an initial legal position for the purpose of drawing a player control/charging foul? I thought the interpretation would be similar to the NBA's in that the RA doesn't apply in the NBA when a player makes a legitimate attempt to defend the shot (and jumping vertically would definitely fit that bill).

Perhaps you could make such an argument if the RA rule considered what a player was trying to do....but it doesn't. It only says a secondary defender can't have LGP while in the RA and any block/charge contact will be a block.

It was written with the player trying to draw the charge in mind, but they didn't qualify its use with what the player does.

Welpe Tue Feb 28, 2012 07:58am

This is a great example of a "clean up top" block. I see the body contact as incidental and I think that putting a whistle on this would be penalizing a great athletic play.

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 828378)
I totally disagree that the body contact or the result of the body contact was the fault of the defender. The shooter was coming forward and fell mostly because he ran into a bigger player. At least from my judgment that is almost never a foul on the defender.

Yes, the shooter came forward, but the important piece of this equation is that the defender also lunged forward, hence the blocking foul. I could see your point if the defender remained in his "phone booth," but that wasn't even close.

Rich Tue Feb 28, 2012 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828400)
Yes, the shooter came forward, but the important piece of this equation is that the defender also lunged forward, hence the blocking foul. I could see your point if the defender remained in his "phone booth," but that wasn't even close.

I'm not sure what you're watching, but this play is a great example of sucking on a whistle and ignoring some subsequent contact down low because of the great defensive play up top.

This is the play where some officials will call a foul and sell hard "he got him down low", "body". Don't be one of those officials.

The only thing that made me look twice was whether or not the blockers arm followed through and hit the shooter on the head. If that happened, I'd probably consider calling a foul, depending on how responsible I think the blocker is for that contact.

Rich Tue Feb 28, 2012 09:06am

The art of basketball officiating | Lutz | Wichita Eagle Blogs

JetMetFan Tue Feb 28, 2012 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 828402)
I'm not sure what you're watching, but this play is a great example of sucking on a whistle and ignoring some subsequent contact down low because of the great defensive play up top.

This is the play where some officials will call a foul and sell hard "he got him down low", "body". Don't be one of those officials.

The only thing that made me look twice was whether or not the blockers arm followed through and hit the shooter on the head. If that happened, I'd probably consider calling a foul, depending on how responsible I think the blocker is for that contact.

Agreed. The big question - which we always ask ourselves - is: did the contact put anyone at a disadvantage? If anything it just "looks bad" because the defender swung his arm down to make the block.

I'm with Rich in terms of a hit to the head. That's the only way on this play I'd consider putting a whistle on it

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 28, 2012 09:57am

Great defense on the blocked shot!


But there was some contact after the shot that may have affected the safe landing that A1 is entitled to.
  • If that contact was too severe for you, then call a foul.
  • If you believe that A1 deserved a better landing, then call a foul.

B5's right arm on the follow-through struck A1's head/neck area which seemed to knock him off of his safe landing. There was no way A1 was going to land as he did if there was no contact from B5.

I can definitely see calling this a foul in JV. Varsity: perhaps it's 50-50, likely less. I would not expect a call in the NCAA, and there wasn't.

Me personally, I dislike it when there is contact to a player's head. It's just a pet peeve of mine, and I tend to protect shooters more when they are hit in the head.

twocentsworth Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:01am

this is pretty simple....this is incidental contact at the D1 level (you may deem it "contact that warrants a foul" at a different level).


imho, the two best plays in basketball are the dunk and the blocked shot - one should not blow the whistle on incidental contact during such plays.

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:03am

Looks like a 80/20 "play on" blocked shot to me. Big man got all ball 1st, then some body & we know what happens when a little man who just threw up a floater meets the big man in the air. Tough to reward the offense on that play...

I thought the RA was all about 2ndary defenders taking charges?? Defenders can still rise in an attempt to block a shot in the RA, no?

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 828418)
Looks like a 80/20 "play on" blocked shot to me.

I thought the RA was all about 2ndary defenders taking charges?? Defenders can still rise in an attempt to block a shot in the RA, no?

If they couldn't, then aren't you are changing a fundamental of basketball: the principle of verticality?

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 828419)
If they couldn't, then aren't you are changing a fundamental of basketball: the principle of verticality?

My point exactly.

MD Longhorn Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:18am

Did this go OT, or did the KU player make the 2nd home run shot? Can't tell from the video.

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 828402)
I'm not sure what you're watching, but this play is a great example of sucking on a whistle and ignoring some subsequent contact down low because of the great defensive play up top.

Very well. Let's say there was no blocked shot on this play, only the body contact. What would you have then?

Adam Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828432)
Very well. Let's say there was no blocked shot on this play, only the body contact. What would you have then?

Shot was gone, defender was straight up, two reasons not to make a call.

Rich Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828432)
Very well. Let's say there was no blocked shot on this play, only the body contact. What would you have then?

The principal of verticality, of course.

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 828446)
The principal of verticality, of course.

Okay, that's where we part ways. It's more visible from the end line camera (where we'd roughly be as the lead), but I clearly see the defender coming into the shooter. Had he stayed in his "phone booth," I'd have nothing.

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828448)
Okay, that's where we part ways. It's more visible from the end line camera (where we'd roughly be as the lead), but I clearly see the defender coming into the shooter. Had he stayed in his "phone booth," I'd have nothing.

Seriously?

So the defender jumps from just within the RA circle, and ends up landing about 3 feet BACKWARDS from where he jumped - because of the shooter jumping into him. And you are going to call a foul on the defender and tell the Coach "He didn't stay in his phone booth!"

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:16am

You're missing the point, Rock. Again, the defender clearly came into the shooter with body contact.

JRutledge Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828432)
Very well. Let's say there was no blocked shot on this play, only the body contact. What would you have then?

Not all body contact with an airborne shooter is a foul on the defender.

Peace

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:18am

The closer players get to the rim, more contact is certain to occur. When a buck & change meets 2 & change the smaller guy usually goes down. Its our judgment as to whether its a foul or not. From the Ls camera angle, dude got his shot wiped, felt some contact & hit the deck. Great CNC!

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828451)
You're missing the point, Rock. Again, the defender clearly came into the shooter with body contact.

I honestly am not seeing that in the video...are you sure you're not mistaking the fact that the shooter hit the defender in the mid-section (which caused the defender to fold up a little bit) for contact created by the defender?

asdf Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:24am

Not a foul in the first 10 seconds of the game....

.... and not a foul in the last 10 seconds of the game.

Solid judgement by the guys on this one.

Adam Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 828449)
Seriously?

So the defender jumps from just within the RA circle, and ends up landing about 3 feet BACKWARDS from where he jumped - because of the shooter jumping into him. And you are going to call a foul on the defender and tell the Coach "He didn't stay in his phone booth!"

Made me watch again. I'm even more convinced now that no-call is the best option here. The defender was jumping obliquely, and the shooter was moving into him. L had a great angle, and so does the camera. The camera from under the basket doesn't give a great angle, IMO.

Welpe Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:26am

Good observation rocky.

<s>You know if you look at it slow motion, the offensive player travels. And no, I'm not advocating calling that.</s> :D

Edit: Watched it again. Nevermind, no he doesn't.

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 828460)
Good observation rocky.

You know if you look at it slow motion, the offensive player travels. And no, I'm not advocating calling that. :D

It seems that so many videos that get posted have a travel in them that is not what the video was originally about.

No wonder traveling is a POE so often. :D

Welpe Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:30am

Check my edit, I changed my mind. He started his gather but bobbled the ball a bit. No travel. :)

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 828456)
I honestly am not seeing that in the video...are you sure you're not mistaking the fact that the shooter hit the defender in the mid-section (which caused the defender to fold up a little bit) for contact created by the defender?

No, the defender is clearly going into the shooter. The defender has a right to defend his spot on the floor up to the ceiling, not the spots in front of the spot.

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828465)
No, the defender is clearly going into the shooter. The defender has a right to defend his spot on the floor up to the ceiling, not the spots in front of the spot.

Is the shooter whos driving to the rack not moving into the defender as well?

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:44am

OK, not trying to be a jerk here, but is anyone else seeing what bainsey is saying? Honest question because maybe I am missing it somehow...I just don't see the defender jumping into the shooter - I see it the other way entirely.

Anyone else see the defender jumping into the shooter?

Raymond Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 828367)
But if there is contact sufficient for a block/charge foul, it will be a block due to the RA, even if his purpose was to block the shot.

....

Guidance below:

Quote:

Originally Posted by From the NCAA-M's Clinic
Intent/Rationale for Rule.

 The safety of both the offensive and defensive player involved in the block/charge is a concern and the use of a restricted area arc will eliminate some collisions near the basket. In recent seasons, the number of collisions near the basket and block/charge plays has caused the committee to study these plays. It is the committee’s belief that an offensive team player driving to the basket should be protected in this area.

Quote:

A.R. 123. Low-post player A5 spins and gets by defender B5. B4 comes from the weak side and establishes initial guarding position within the restricted area. A5 continues to move to the basket and:

(1) While airborne and shooting the ball, leans into and makes contact with B4; or
...

RULING: (1) B4 is a secondary defender and illegally established initial guarding position within the restricted area to stop A5’s try for goal. A blocking foul shall be assessed to B4.
...
(Rule 4-61 and 10-1.12)
Quote:

Fouls and Penalties. 10-1.12. A secondary defender as defined in Rule 4-61 cannot establish initial legal guarding position in the restricted area for the purpose of drawing a player control foul/charge when defending a player who is in control of the ball (i.e., dribbling or shooting) or who has released the ball for a pass or try. When illegal contact occurs within this Restricted Area, such contact shall be called a blocking foul, unless the contact is a flagrant foul.

a. When illegal contact occurs by the offensive player leading with a foot or unnatural, extended knee, or warding off with the arm, such contact shall be called a player-control foul....

Adam Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 828470)
OK, not trying to be a jerk here, but is anyone else seeing what bainsey is saying? Honest question because maybe I am missing it somehow...I just don't see the defender jumping into the shooter - I see it the other way entirely.

Anyone else see the defender jumping into the shooter?

I see the defender jumping back and to his right, towards the lead official.

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 828472)
I see the defender jumping back and to his right, towards the lead official.

Thats what I saw too, more importantly, I saw dude get his shot REjected before any body contact took place.

JRutledge Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 828470)
OK, not trying to be a jerk here, but is anyone else seeing what bainsey is saying? Honest question because maybe I am missing it somehow...I just don't see the defender jumping into the shooter - I see it the other way entirely.

Anyone else see the defender jumping into the shooter?

If we have to use a Cathetometer to determine if and how a defender is going forward, then we really need to pass on that play. I see a offensive player that was coming forward and got his shot blocked and would have made contact with the defender regardless of what the defender did on this play. And because of that fact, the contact is totally incidental. The contact did not prevent the player from landing normally than he would have or prevent him from playing in the game. When someone blocks your shot, you tend to be off balance as you were trying to avoid the block in the first place. This would be a JV call to a foul on this particular play.

Peace

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 828468)
Is the shooter whos driving to the rack not moving into the defender as well?

Absoultely, and if the defender were in his phone booth, we'd have a charge or nothing, though it's difficult to go with nothing considering the amount of contact here. Since the defender is indeed moving into the shooter, the burden of advantageous contact lies with him.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I see the defender jumping back and to his right, towards the lead official.

We ARE talking about #0 white, right?

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:58am

We will just have to agree to disagree on this one bainsey.

asdf Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 828468)
Is the shooter whos driving to the rack not moving into the defender as well?

Not only was he moving into the defender, he clearly moved the defender back, and continued to move forward himself after the contact as well.

Raymond Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 828477)
We will just have to agree to disagree on this one bainsey.

I know none of my college supervisors would be happy with me if I called a foul on this play. Back in my 2nd season of college ball I believe the words one of my supervisors used on me when I worked a game with 2 officials who had D3 Final Four on their resumes was "high school calls" when differentiating my call selection from theirs. :o

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:06pm

1. I don't have the defender moving into the shooter.
2. The NCAA RA rules currently make no mention/exception/allowance for a player blocking or attempting to block a shot.
3. The key in my mind, and what I was driving at, is what JRut and a couple of others mentioned briefly, and what I asked APG: That, in this play, the official needs to determine if the contact is illegal, as specifically mentioned in the RA rules - because this secondary defender cannot establish initial legal guarding position in the RA - regardless of what they do after they establish there (i.e. all of the verticality/clean block up top discussion), or if it was incidental. That's why I posed the question of same situation, but defender never leaves the ground, and the shooter still ends up on the floor like they do in the film clip.

We (I think) all understand/know that a play where the defender establishes their guarding position in the RA and then contact occurs with the defender in/above the RA that results in both players hitting the ground will be a blocking foul (flopping/atypical situations aside). What I'm asking is when the defender doesn't hit the ground, or get seriously displaced, but the shooter does, what should we have?

Edit for this coach discussion with official after my play:
Coach: "HOW IS THAT A NOT A FOUL?"
Official: "THE DEFENDER DIDN'T DO ANYTHING ILLEGAL, COACH."
Coach: "THE DEFENDER CANNOT ESTABLISH LEGAL GUARDING POSITION THERE! SO DOESN'T THAT MAKE HIM ILLEGAL WHEN CONTACT HAPPENS WITH MY SHOOTER?"
Official: "I HAD ONLY INCIDENTAL CONTACT THERE, COACH."
Coach: "THAT'S A HE** OF A LOT OF INCIDENTAL CONTACT THAT RESULTS IN MY AIRBORNE SHOOTER LANDING ON HIS A** UNDER THE BASKET!"
Official: "................"

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 828477)
We will just have to agree to disagree on this one bainsey.

I suppose the important thing is that we ask the right questions, i.e., verticality, hindering, etc.

That said, I've been ignoring the sideline camera, because we never get that look, but from that view, it seems that #0 White jumps into the shooter laterally. Of course, a defender can move laterally, but wouldn't jumping into the shooter from that direction result in a blocking foul? If not, why not?

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 828479)
I know none of my college supervisors would be happy with me if I called a foul on this play. ... "high school calls"

I think I found the crux. A high school official is probably all I'll ever be.

JRutledge Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828484)
I think I found the crux. A high school official is probably all I'll ever be.

I would not call this in a HS game. But then again I do think there is a difference between what only HS guys do compared to officials that have experience with other levels and what they will call.

Peace

M&M Guy Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:20pm

Maybe I can shed a little light on bainsey's position. Once upon a time, I would've easily called the foul on the defender, because I was watching the offensive player all the way to the basket, saw contact with the defender, and the offensive player went down after the contact. I used to be the one to "sell" that body contact.

Over time, I've evolved my thinking to concentrate a little more on the defender, and to not penalize them if they didn't do anything wrong, by rule. We've concentrated so much on the phrase "protect the shooters" that I think it has unfairly penalized good defense. This play is a good example of the defense not really doing anything wrong which leads to a lot of incidental contact.

bainsey - don't take the "high school official" comment too seriously, but approach it from the standpoint that maybe you can adjust your thinking on plays like this, and maybe it will help your overall play calling and career.

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 828480)
Edit for this coach discussion with official after my play:
Coach: "HOW IS THAT A NOT A FOUL?"
Official: "THE DEFENDER DIDN'T DO ANYTHING ILLEGAL, COACH."
Coach: "THE DEFENDER CANNOT ESTABLISH LEGAL GUARDING POSITION THERE! SO DOESN'T THAT MAKE HIM ILLEGAL WHEN CONTACT HAPPENS WITH MY SHOOTER?"

Official: The RA applies to block/charge situations with 2ndary defenders, coach. Not blocked shots...

See post #45 for a clear picture of the intent & purpose of the RA.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828483)
Of course, a defender can move laterally, but wouldn't jumping into the shooter from that direction result in a blocking foul? If not, why not?

Because the shooter got his try wiped clean prior to the contact. And when I ask myself did that contact put the shooter at a disadvantage, I keep coming up with no. By the time the contact took place, the other team already had possession.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828484)
I think I found the crux. A high school official is probably all I'll ever be.

So as a man thinketh...

Camron Rust Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828400)
Yes, the shooter came forward, but the important piece of this equation is that the defender also lunged forward, hence the blocking foul. I could see your point if the defender remained in his "phone booth," but that wasn't even close.

You do realize he landed behind the spot he jumped from don't you?

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:27pm

1. I'm enjoying this discussion, and 2. I think this was a good no-call in this game
 
but,
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 828489)
Official: The RA applies to block/charge situations with 2ndary defenders, coach. Not blocked shots...

I don't know of any rule support that backs up that statement. For me, as I'm reading the rules and AR's, it comes down to either the contact was incidental, or the contact was illegal.

APG Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 828480)
2. The NCAA RA rules currently make no mention/exception/allowance for a player blocking or attempting to block a shot.

Not saying you're wrong, but why does 4-35-7...the very last bit mention:

"This restriction shall not prohibit a defender, located within the restricted area, from attempting to block a shot."

To me, the RA has always been about secondary defenders trying to get into position to draw a charge on an opponent. A defender who jumps verticality is not setting up to draw a charge, but playing active defense, and thus the RA shouldn't apply.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 828493)
Not saying you're wrong, but why does 4-35-7...the very last bit mention:

"This restriction shall not prohibit a defender, located within the restricted area, from attempting to block a shot."

To me, the RA has always been about secondary defenders trying to get into position to draw a charge on an opponent. A defender who jumps verticality is not setting up to draw a charge, but playing active defense, and thus the RA shouldn't apply.

I like it. And then it still comes to clean block and then incidental contact (albeit, a decent amount).

Raymond Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 828493)
Not saying you're wrong, but why does 4-35-7...the very last bit mention:

"This restriction shall not prohibit a defender, located within the restricted area, from attempting to block a shot."

To me, the RA has always been about secondary defenders trying to get into position to draw a charge on an opponent. A defender who jumps verticality is not setting up to draw a charge, but playing active defense, and thus the RA shouldn't apply.

I agree because most likely any illegal contact that occurs when a defender maintains verticality in a block attempt would come from an offensive player leading with his foot/leg or warding off of with his arm, which are both PC fouls that override the secondary defender RA restrictions.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 828498)
I agree because most likely any illegal contact that occurs when a defender maintains verticality in a block attempt would come from an offensive player leading with his foot/leg or warding off of with his arm, which are both PC fouls that override the secondary defender RA restrictions.

Agreed.

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:49pm

Hold up, wait a minute!

APG am I mistaken or is the RA only for block/charge situations??

If a 2ndary defender is in the RA & is NOT trying to draw a charge, but block a shot instead then everything RA related is off unless the offense does something illegal, no?
We can still have a foul on the attempted blocked shot by the defender but we dont use the RA mechanic, right?

SamIAm Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 828470)
OK, not trying to be a jerk here, but is anyone else seeing what bainsey is saying? Honest question because maybe I am missing it somehow...I just don't see the defender jumping into the shooter - I see it the other way entirely.

Anyone else see the defender jumping into the shooter?

I do. Details-
B1 -KU-0 jumps from RA toward the sideline putting himself into A1 path, my guestimate is about 2 feet of actual floor distance (B1 would have landed outside the RA with no contact from A1, enough to go into A1's path). A1 and B1 make contact,
A1's contact was lower on B1 causing B1's feet to land nearer the endline, but offbalance stumbling forward as his upperbody is farther forward.
Look past B1, at the blue lights/windows in the distance, can't see them now you do, B1 was moving forward.

I am a KU fan and was surprised no foul was called after seeing APG's replay.

APG Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 828500)
Hold up, wait a minute!

APG am I mistaken or is the RA only for block/charge situations??

If a 2ndary defender is in the RA & is NOT trying to draw a charge, but block a shot instead then everything RA related is off unless the offense does something illegal, no?
We can still have a foul on the attempted blocked shot by the defender but we dont use the RA mechanic, right?

That's how I understood the rule.

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 828507)
That's how I understood the rule.

Ok I'm good then, thanks.

bainsey Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 828490)
You do realize he landed behind the spot he jumped from don't you?

He landed there due to the impact with the shooter.

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
bainsey - don't take the "high school official" comment too seriously...

Not offended whatsoever. I completely agree that, often times, some calls unnecessarily penalize the defense. I don't believe this is one of them. I see neither verticality nor incidental contact here. Until a supervisor tells me otherwise, that's what I'll go with.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref
Because the shooter got his try wiped clean prior to the contact.

He was unquestionably wiped clean. I simply don't believe that's license to level someone, and that a defender has to be responsible for his momentum (verticality notwithstanding). If the rules say otherwise, that's good enough for me to convert.

berserkBBK Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:33pm

I keep trying to see it as a foul, but every time I have a clean play. If I would have called this a foul I would have been kicking myself all the way to the table for not having a patient whistle.

BillyMac Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:35pm

I Had To Ask ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 828458)
Not a foul in the first 10 seconds of the game, and not a foul in the last 10 seconds of the game.

How about the middle 1900 seconds?

berserkBBK Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 828510)

He was unquestionably wiped clean. I simply don't believe that's license to level someone, and that a defender has to be responsible for his momentum (verticality notwithstanding). If the rules say otherwise, that's good enough for me to convert.

I see this as a guard and a shot blocking center making contact. Who is going to take the brunt of the contact? This in like when a taller player jumps up and takes a ball off a rebound from a shorter player. Of course everyone keeps yelling for "over the back". I'm not punishing a tall player for his size, and on this play I'm not punishing a center for being bigger than a guard and taking the contact better.

APG Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 828519)
How about the middle 1900 seconds?

No, you didn't have to ask.

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 828524)
I see this as a guard and a shot blocking center making contact. Who is going to take the brunt of the contact? This in like when a taller player jumps up and takes a ball off a rebound from a shorter player. Of course everyone keeps yelling for "over the back". I'm not punishing a tall player for his size, and on this play I'm not punishing a center for being bigger than a guard and taking the contact better.

+1

Now in a 5th grade girls game, yes, call the foul. :D

ballgame99 Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:50pm

Since Bainsy seems to be getting beaten up in here
 
How can that much contact not result in a foul? You can say fans are stupid and don't know the rules (most don't and this is a true statement most of the time) but when they see a guy go up for a layup and get clobbered I don't think it is unreasonable to expect a foul call.

A1 is airborn before B1 even takes off, B1 comes in chopping downward hard and creates significant contact. He is not vertical at all, he comes from opposite side, he takes off in the middle of the circle and contact occurs outside the circle, he would have landed outside the lane if no contact. Whether he got ball clean up top before contact has nothing to do with anything.

So by most in here the little guys should not even bother taking anything in the lane because if the big guy comes through you and gets ball first its not a foul???

And for those that didn't see the finish of the game, they called a touch foul on Missouri on an out of control KU player with 8 seconds left in OT for the go ahead free throws.

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 828504)
I do. Details-
B1 -KU-0 jumps from RA toward the sideline putting himself into A1 path, my guestimate is about 2 feet of actual floor distance (B1 would have landed outside the RA with no contact from A1, enough to go into A1's path). A1 and B1 make contact,
A1's contact was lower on B1 causing B1's feet to land nearer the endline, but offbalance stumbling forward as his upperbody is farther forward.
Look past B1, at the blue lights/windows in the distance, can't see them now you do, B1 was moving forward.

I am a KU fan and was surprised no foul was called after seeing APG's replay.

If you are having to do a measurement based on slow motion measuring of the blue lights and windows in the far background, then the defender did nothing wrong. The shooter created the contact and the ball was blocked cleanly. I still say this was a great no-call by the crew. Kudos to them for having patient whistles on this play.

asdf Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
How can that much contact not result in a foul? You can say fans are stupid and don't know the rules (most don't and this is a true statement most of the time) but when they see a guy go up for a layup and get clobbered I don't think it is unreasonable to expect a foul call.

A1 is airborn before B1 even takes off, B1 comes in chopping downward hard and creates significant contact. He is not vertical at all, he comes from opposite side, he takes off in the middle of the circle and contact occurs outside the circle, he would have landed outside the lane if no contact. Whether he got ball clean up top before contact has nothing to do with anything.

So by most in here the little guys should not even bother taking anything in the lane because if the big guy comes through you and gets ball first its not a foul???

And for those that didn't see the finish of the game, they called a touch foul on Missouri on an out of control KU player with 8 seconds left in OT for the go ahead free throws.

How do you explain the "little guy" knocking the "big guy" (who was allegedly moving into the little guy) backwards?

Welpe Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
How can that much contact not result in a foul?

Well...the difference is none of us are from Missouri.

Quote:

And for those that didn't see the finish of the game, they called a touch foul on Missouri on an out of control KU player with 8 seconds left in OT for the go ahead free throws.
That was a good call, too. Look at that play from a rules perspective instead of a fan's and you'll understand.

ballgame99 Tue Feb 28, 2012 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 828537)
How do you explain the "little guy" knocking the "big guy" (who was allegedly moving into the little guy) backwards?

because he is coming forward at a rate faster than the defender. Its physics.

berserkBBK Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
So by most in here the little guys should not even bother taking anything in the lane because if the big guy comes through you and gets ball first its not a foul???

And for those that didn't see the finish of the game, they called a touch foul on Missouri on an out of control KU player with 8 seconds left in OT for the go ahead free throws.

I think this is too general of a statement. If a small player goes into a larger player we can't automatically call a foul. The contact is always going to look worse on a little guy. So I guess a better idea would be for anyone to avoid contact no matter what size.

I did not see the game. However I never like comparing two different plays, because they are different and should be judged based on each individual play.

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
How can that much contact not result in a foul?

Whether he got ball clean up top before contact has nothing to do with anything.

So by most in here the little guys should not even bother taking anything in the lane because if the big guy comes through you and gets ball first its not a foul???

And for those that didn't see the finish of the game, they called a touch foul on Missouri on an out of control KU player with 8 seconds left in OT for the go ahead free throws.

1) It doesn't result in a foul because the defender did not cause the contact - the shooter did, whether you like that fact or not.

2) It most certainly does have something to do with this play.

3) Incredibly stupid statement.

4) I personally don't care about some other call/play when we are talking about this play. Why would you even bring this up unless you are somehow trying to imply that the officials cheated?

JRutledge Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
How can that much contact not result in a foul? You can say fans are stupid and don't know the rules (most don't and this is a true statement most of the time) but when they see a guy go up for a layup and get clobbered I don't think it is unreasonable to expect a foul call.

Maybe you need to read Rule 4-27. The rule says that "Contact can be severe" and the contact will be incidental. So the defense would have had to have done something illegal to have a foul in this case and that is debatable.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
A1 is airborn before B1 even takes off, B1 comes in chopping downward hard and creates significant contact. He is not vertical at all, he comes from opposite side, he takes off in the middle of the circle and contact occurs outside the circle, he would have landed outside the lane if no contact. Whether he got ball clean up top before contact has nothing to do with anything.

And there is a little rule called verticality. If the defender is vertical, which I believe he was then they cannot be called for anything unless you just want to make someone that does not the rule happy.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
So by most in here the little guys should not even bother taking anything in the lane because if the big guy comes through you and gets ball first its not a foul???

And for those that didn't see the finish of the game, they called a touch foul on Missouri on an out of control KU player with 8 seconds left in OT for the go ahead free throws.

I really hate it when people twist what people say here to try to make their argument. No a little guy that runs into a bigger player is going to get knocked over. And we cannot call a foul under the rules if we only look at the result of the contact and not what the players did illegal. Just like we do not call a PC foul on a smaller player that runs into a legal standing defender and bounces off and falls to the floor, we should not call a foul just because a little guy falls either on this kind of play. Unless the defender jumped completely forward to an airborne shooter and knocked the shooter down, then maybe you are right. And it should be expected by using common sense that someone is going to fall near the basket when players are going hard to the basket. We as a group love to find reasons to call fouls on the defenders and often never give them the benefit of the doubt, but we allow offensive players to do all kinds of things and the offensive player is not necessarily in a legal position either.

Peace

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
How can that much contact not result in a foul?

Some officials have more experience & better judgment than others.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
A1 is airborn before B1 even takes off...

And?

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
B1 comes in chopping downward hard and creates significant contact. He is not vertical at all, he comes from opposite side, he takes off in the middle of the circle and contact occurs outside the circle, he would have landed outside the lane if no contact. Whether he got ball clean up top before contact has nothing to do with anything.

Alotta fanboy talk in that statement! If the defense gets a block clean up top & then crashes into a jump shooter, I agree.
Two players going up & meeting in the middle is not the same play.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
So by most in here the little guys should not even bother taking anything in the lane because if the big guy comes through you and gets ball first its not a foul???

Just like the old tv show, That's Impossible! Check that, Thats Incredible... but still impossible.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
And for those that didn't see the finish of the game, they called a touch foul on Missouri on an out of control KU player with 8 seconds left in OT for the go ahead free throws.

Next time purchase your foul insurance :rolleyes:

ballgame99 Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 828538)
Well...the difference is none of us are from Missouri.



That was a good call, too. Look at that play from a rules perspective instead of a fan's and you'll understand.

Its hard for me in this situation, obviously. I am an official. I am a Mizzou alum and fan.

From an official's view, these two plays are both fouls by the letter of the rules. The shooter's attempt doesn't end until he lands, therefore whether he got ball before contact matters not. There is excessive contact that the defender creates.

From a fan's perspective, I see a guy go up for a layup and get creamed (no call) and then I see another guy go up and get the benefit of a hand check call (very minimal contact that disadvantaged him very little if at all). The whole thing stinks.

VaTerp Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
How can that much contact not result in a foul?.

Easy. When the contact is not illegal.

IMHO this play is indicative of the type of call selection that differeniates officials and what level of play they can referee. This is simply not a foul at really any level and especially anything above middle school ball.

My HS assingor would skewer any official who made this call and I'm pretty confident in saying that 99% of the college officials/assignors that I have had
the opportunity to chat with would do the same.

And people who are saying that the defender is moving forward and even guestimating how many feet he would have landed are just flat out wrong. Have you guys ever played the game, ever blocked a shot, ever attempted a contested lay-up? I already know how some will react to that question but it says something to me.

I'm just baffled that there are multiple people aruging extensively that there should be a whistle on this play.

Rich Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828548)
Its hard for me in this situation, obviously. I am an official. I am a Mizzou alum and fan.

From an official's view, these two plays are both fouls by the letter of the rules. The shooter's attempt doesn't end until he lands, therefore whether he got ball before contact matters not. There is excessive contact that the defender creates.

From a fan's perspective, I see a guy go up for a layup and get creamed (no call) and then I see another guy go up and get the benefit of a hand check call (very minimal contact that disadvantaged him very little if at all). The whole thing stinks.

Do you work big school boys varsity games? Or any college men's games?

I'm just curious. Because every place I lived if you call fouls like the one in the video you probably wouldn't be on the top of anyone's preferred list.

Verticality as a principle does not mean the defender is going to take off and land in the exact same location, BTW.

JRutledge Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828548)
Its hard for me in this situation, obviously. I am an official. I am a Mizzou alum and fan.

From an official's view, these two plays are both fouls by the letter of the rules. The shooter's attempt doesn't end until he lands, therefore whether he got ball before contact matters not. There is excessive contact that the defender creates.

From a fan's perspective, I see a guy go up for a layup and get creamed (no call) and then I see another guy go up and get the benefit of a hand check call (very minimal contact that disadvantaged him very little if at all). The whole thing stinks.

Forgive me but what rule are you referring to? I gave you a rule that clearly says that all contact is not a foul and if normal movement is not affected it should not be a foul and you are saying by rule this play should be a foul? What rule are you referencing? If the defender is vertical how can they be in an illegal position? An airborne shooter does not get a "no fly zone" because they are going to the basket.

Peace

berserkBBK Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828548)
Its hard for me in this situation, obviously. I am an official. I am a Mizzou alum and fan.

From an official's view, these two plays are both fouls by the letter of the rules. The shooter's attempt doesn't end until he lands, therefore whether he got ball before contact matters not. There is excessive contact that the defender creates.

From a fan's perspective, I see a guy go up for a layup and get creamed (no call) and then I see another guy go up and get the benefit of a hand check call (very minimal contact that disadvantaged him very little if at all). The whole thing stinks.

The bold statements show why you aren't impartial and sound like the fans that we try to get away from by posting on this forum.

tref Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828548)
Its hard for me in this situation, obviously. I am an official. I am a Mizzou alum and fan.

From an official's view, these two plays are both fouls by the letter of the rules. The shooter's attempt doesn't end until he lands, therefore whether he got ball before contact matters not. There is excessive contact that the defender creates. From a fan's perspective, I see a guy go up for a layup and get creamed (no call) and then I see another guy go up and get the benefit of a hand check call (very minimal contact that disadvantaged him very little if at all). The whole thing stinks.

So you're saying you couldnt get picked up & work games in that conference honestly?

Correction: He's an airborne shooter unitl he lands, but the try ends when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful. And seeing how KU had possession as your guy is laying on the wood, that try was done.

Excessive contact? Now you want a F1?
Creamed? Dont know about THAT.

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828548)
There is excessive contact that the defender creates.

.

I get the fact that you are frustrated because your team lost a game they shouldn't have. Wasn't Mizzou up by 19 or so in the second half?

But this statement is just wrong...the shooter creates the contact - he is the one that launches himself forward, not the defender.

ballgame99 Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 828552)
Forgive me but what rule are you referring to? I gave you a rule that clearly says that all contact is not a foul and if normal movement is not affected it should not be a foul and you are saying by rule this play should be a foul? What rule are you referencing? If the defender is vertical how can they be in an illegal position? An airborne shooter does not get a "no fly zone" because they are going to the basket.

Peace

Agree, if the defender is vertical this isn't a foul. In my judgement he isn't vertical. That is all.

Part of my "problem" may be that I have played basketball all my life, coached for many more, and am now trying to learn to be an official and I've got you guys telling me everything that I know about the game is wrong. I need to learn that a guard isn't allowed to go in for a layup and have his path to the basket violated by the defender and get dropped to the floor with a tomahawk chop and expect a foul. No wonder people ***** about college officials.

Sorry, I will keep my middle school officiating-self out of the deep end from now on.

And I mentioned the other call because someone previously asked how the game ended and the OP said something about how Mizzou fans were complaining. The complaining is due to the perceived inconsistency.

APG Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828565)

Part of my "problem" may be that I have played basketball all my life, coached for many more, and am now trying to learn to be an official and I've got you guys telling me everything that I know about the game is wrong. I need to learn that a guard isn't allowed to go in for a layup and have his path to the basket violated by the defender and get dropped to the floor with a tomahawk chop and expect a foul. No wonder people ***** about college officials.

Don't exaggerate. The Missouri player did not get dropped to the floor with a tomahawk chop. In fact the swinging of his arm had nothing to do with how he got to the floor. He went to the floor because he was moving at a high rate of speed at an opponent who is bigger/heavier than him. Now if you want to debate whether the defender had verticality, that's fine and a valid opinion but to say the defender chopped down the opponent is hyperbolizing the play.

Raymond Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828565)
... I need to learn that a guard isn't allowed to go in for a layup and have his path to the basket violated by the defender and get dropped to the floor with a tomahawk chop and expect a foul. No wonder people ***** about college officials.

Sorry, I will keep my middle school officiating-self out of the deep end from now on.

And I mentioned the other call because someone previously asked how the game ended and the OP said something about how Mizzou fans were complaining. The complaining is due to the perceived inconsistency.

Well, now you're saying A1 was tomahawk chopped. :rolleyes:

People b!tch about middle school officials also.

The complaining is b/c Mizzou lost a close game involving officials making decisions late in game.

berserkBBK Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828565)
Agree, if the defender is vertical this isn't a foul. In my judgement he isn't vertical. That is all.

I need to learn that a guard isn't allowed to go in for a layup and have his path to the basket violated by the defender and get dropped to the floor with a tomahawk chop and expect a foul. No wonder people ***** about college officials.

Sorry, I will keep my middle school officiating-self out of the deep end from now on.

You have a biased opinion on this, and you're trying to pick hairs to gain a call in your team's favor. You sound bitter and need to blame someone. If you look at more games than just your team's, then you would have a better understanding for how accurate these officials are.

JRutledge Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 828571)
Don't exaggerate. The Missouri player did not get dropped to the floor with a tomahawk chop. In fact the swinging of his arm had nothing to do with how he got to the floor. He went to the floor because he was moving at a high rate of speed at an opponent who is bigger/heavier than him. Now if you want to debate whether the defender had verticality, that's fine and a valid opinion but to say the defender chopped down the opponent is hyperbolizing the play.

Absolutely!!!


Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828565)
Agree, if the defender is vertical this isn't a foul. In my judgement he isn't vertical. That is all.

Part of my "problem" may be that I have played basketball all my life, coached for many more, and am now trying to learn to be an official and I've got you guys telling me everything that I know about the game is wrong. I need to learn that a guard isn't allowed to go in for a layup and have his path to the basket violated by the defender and get dropped to the floor with a tomahawk chop and expect a foul. No wonder people ***** about college officials.

Just because you coached and played does not mean you know the rules. I played too for years and when I became an official I had to relearn rules or learn what the rule actually was based on the common myths I had regurgitated to me for years.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 828571)
Sorry, I will keep my middle school officiating-self out of the deep end from now on.

I think this is part of the problem with these discussions. I am not saying this necessarily about you, but working a college Men's game is very different than working many varsity games, both boys and girls games. And part of the problem is this play is not totally uncommon at that level or even many varsity boys games, but might be something you never see at a middle school or even lower level HS game. And I really think that is why many of us will never agree because a middle school official has a different set of motivations than a college official. And this is also why I cannot stand to work girls games because this kind of contact would be expected to be called. Heck I have seen officials call fouls in girls games where no one falls and there is a foul on a made basket. And I think really that is the crux of this issue, because what you are used to working will dictate what you see or what judgment you use.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 828571)
And I mentioned the other call because someone previously asked how the game ended and the OP said something about how Mizzou fans were complaining. The complaining is due to the perceived inconsistency.

And we should care about their opinion because........?

Peace

BillyMac Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:49pm

My Grandmaother Gave Me A Physic When I Was Constipated ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828540)
Because he is coming forward at a rate faster than the defender. Its physics.

F=ma? P=mv?

dsqrddgd909 Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 828575)
Well, now you're saying A1 was tomahawk chopped. :rolleyes:

People b!tch about middle school officials also.

The complaining is b/c Mizzou lost a close game involving officials making decisions late in game.

A bit off-topic, but I was sitting in my car listening to the game before going into to see a high school district final in MO. I heard the end of the game on the radio and as I got out of my car I heard about 100 car doors slamming shut.

Adam Tue Feb 28, 2012 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828531)
How can that much contact not result in a foul?

Not a good way to start your question. The amount of contact is not the sole determining factor for whether it's incidental or illegal. Inicidental contact may, in fact, be quite severe.

There are two questions that matter.

1. Did the defender do anything wrong? I (and a few others) don't think he did, so we stop asking at this point.

For those who think he did, the next question is whether the shooter was disadvantaged or displaced. He was obviously displaced, so calling the foul would follow.

rockyroad Tue Feb 28, 2012 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 828565)
Agree, if the defender is vertical this isn't a foul. In my judgement he isn't vertical. That is all.

Part of my "problem" may be that I have played basketball all my life, coached for many more, and am now trying to learn to be an official and I've got you guys telling me everything that I know about the game is wrong. I need to learn that a guard isn't allowed to go in for a layup and have his path to the basket violated by the defender and get dropped to the floor with a tomahawk chop and expect a foul. No wonder people ***** about college officials.

Sorry, I will keep my middle school officiating-self out of the deep end from now on.

And I mentioned the other call because someone previously asked how the game ended and the OP said something about how Mizzou fans were complaining. The complaining is due to the perceived inconsistency.

I have played, coached, sat in the stands and cheered for my sons as they played, will hopefully sit and cheer for my grandkids as they play (down the road a ways). So I understand the whole issue of separating being a fan and being an official. I have had to struggle with it quite a few times.

In this case, you are letting your fan mindset overrule your officiating mindset. That defender did not fly into the shooter - the shooter flew into the defender. The defender did not tomahawk chop anyone.

Welpe Tue Feb 28, 2012 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 828582)
but working a college Men's game is very different than working many varsity games

Jeff, if a player in a Girl's 7th Grade C level game can pull off a block this athletic, I'm not putting a whistle on it! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1