Duke/UNC
Situation - Duke down 3 and takes 3 point shot and is tipped into the goal by UNC player. Officials gather and rule a 2 point goal. Explanation is shot didn't have chance to go in.
NCAA book downstairs, but NFHS 5.2.1.c sit a says it should be a three and gives no consideration to "chance to go in"
Is the NCAA rule the same?
Also, we are allowed to use the monitor to rule on a two or three point shot. I don't remember it being limited to behind the line situations, therefore couldn't they of gone to the monitor? Seems like a good reason to use it if you're allowed. Did i miss something in their ruling?
|