The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Simultaneous whistles (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87560-simultaneous-whistles.html)

just another ref Sun Feb 05, 2012 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 820413)


Why can the officials not get together and discuss in this one, but they can in the other one?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 820415)
Because that's the way it is (or is interpreted to be).

I'm asking a serious question. (this time:D) Is this interpretation (confer, don't confer) written anywhere? I have yet to see it. I just keep getting:
Because that's the way it is.

Quote:


Work to change it if you like. Propose a rules clarification. etc. But please, please, please stop bringing it up here.
I thought that's what I was doing by bringing it up here. It's happened before.

Adam Sun Feb 05, 2012 01:49pm

Yes, you're the ONLY one I know who reads any ambiguity into the NFHS case play. To everybody else I know, the meaning is clear. Some don't like it, others understand the reasoning; but they all agree with its application.

just another ref Sun Feb 05, 2012 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 820420)
Yes, you're the ONLY one I know who reads any ambiguity into the NFHS case play. To everybody else I know, the meaning is clear. Some don't like it, others understand the reasoning; but they all agree with its application.

And yet we all seem to agree it's okay to sweep the multiple foul case under the rug.

bainsey Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 820429)
And yet we all seem to agree it's okay to sweep the multiple foul case under the rug.

Let's take a look at the end result.

On Friday night, I had the same thing happen as was listed in the OP (except I was the lead). Double whistle, my partner had a push on A-1, and I had a block on A-2. My partner and I conversed, and we determined that the A-1 foul he saw came first. Since he had to administer the free throws, I reported the foul.

I reported A-1. B-3 is shooting two.

Let's say, instead, I reported A-1 and A-2. B-3 would still be shooting two, and I'd have a little unnecessary messy confusion to deal with. B-3 is getting his justified free throws, so it doesn't make sense to manage the game otherwise. That's why we pick one.

just another ref Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 820535)
Let's take a look at the end result.

On Friday night, I had the same thing happen as was listed in the OP (except I was the lead). Double whistle, my partner had a push on A-1, and I had a block on A-2. My partner and I conversed, and we determined that the A-1 foul he saw came first. Since he had to administer the free throws, I reported the foul.

I reported A-1. B-3 is shooting two.

Let's say, instead, I reported A-1 and A-2. B-3 would still be shooting two, and I'd have a little unnecessary messy confusion to deal with. B-3 is getting his justified free throws, so it doesn't make sense to manage the game otherwise. That's why we pick one.

And it's okay with me, and everybody else, to pick one in this case, even if it was originally called as two.

But this is contrary to the case play.

Raymond Mon Feb 06, 2012 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 820535)
Let's take a look at the end result.

On Friday night, I had the same thing happen as was listed in the OP (except I was the lead). Double whistle, my partner had a push on A-1, and I had a block on A-2. My partner and I conversed, and we determined that the A-1 foul he saw came first. Since he had to administer the free throws, I reported the foul.

I reported A-1. B-3 is shooting two.
....

If your partner had a foul on A1 then your partner should be reporting it. Why did he HAVE to administer the free throws?

I can't think of a good why one official should be reporting another official's foul. :confused:

bainsey Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 820581)
If your partner had a foul on A1 then your partner should be reporting it. Why did he HAVE to administer the free throws?

I can't think of a good why one official should be reporting another official's foul. :confused:

Here's why. He was the trail, and on the required switch, would administer the free throws. He went to the end line to administer, and I hustled to the reporting area and back to the trail position.

When my partner tells me he has a foul, I trust him.

Smitty Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 820655)
Here's why. He was the trail, and on the required switch, would administer the free throws. He went to the end line to administer, and I hustled to the reporting area and back to the trail position.

When my partner tells me he has a foul, I trust him.

Do you make a habit of reporting your partner's fouls and vice versa? I don't understand why you would need to do this. Ever. Why was there a required switch when he was already the trail? :confused:

Adam Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 820655)
Here's why. He was the trail, and on the required switch, would administer the free throws. He went to the end line to administer, and I hustled to the reporting area and back to the trail position.

When my partner tells me he has a foul, I trust him.

Seems to me that if you're going to choose between a required switch and the official reporting his own foul; I would give up the switch first. Not sure I find either to be a particularly big deal, but I've personally never relayed a foul; but I've foregone plenty of switches where the trail calls a shooting foul.

Adam Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 820656)
Do you make a habit of reporting your partner's fouls and vice versa? I don't understand why you would need to do this. Ever. Why was there a required switch when he was already the trail? :confused:

2 person mechanics are to switch on all fouls.

That said....

Rich Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 820658)
2 person mechanics are to switch on all fouls.

That said....

Be careful. That's not the NFHS mechanic on shooting fouls anymore. The caller always remains the trail, tableside if you're following NFHS mechanics.

Smitty Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 820659)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
2 person mechanics are to switch on all fouls.

That said....

Be careful. That's not the NFHS mechanic on shooting fouls anymore. The caller always remains the trail, tableside if you're following NFHS mechanics.

That's what I thought.

Adam Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 820659)
Be careful. That's not the NFHS mechanic on shooting fouls anymore. The caller always remains the trail, tableside if you're following NFHS mechanics.

Which to me makes more sense than the IAABO mechanic (which is the old NFHS mechanic). Trail on FTs still goes opposite, and all fouls should warrant a switch.

I'm not sure, but I think Bainsey uses IAABO mechanics.

Smitty Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 820663)
Which to me makes more sense than the IAABO mechanic (which is the old NFHS mechanic). Trail on FTs still goes opposite, and all fouls should warrant a switch.

I'm not sure, but I think Bainsey uses IAABO mechanics.

That would explain the switch, but not shortcutting the reporting of the foul. Seems sloppy to report your partner's foul just to avoid the extra steps.

Adam Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 820664)
That would explain the switch, but not shortcutting the reporting of the foul. Seems sloppy to report your partner's foul just to avoid the extra steps.

Yeah, I would rather skip the switch than relay a foul report.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1