![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
9.2.5 b
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
That's supposed to be an application of 9-2-5: "The thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court." This is funny already.
Here's the key claim of case 9.2.5 b: "A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she has inbound status." Hahahahaha! Good one, NFHS! Now go read 4-35 "Player Location" and try again.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I have no problem with making it a violation for the thrower to touch an opponent during a throw-in. But please let's not say it's a violation because that gives the thrower inbounds status and thus constitutes carrying the ball into the court!
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But it's a question of who did the touching, I think. If the defender reaches out and touches the thrower, intentional foul. It is specified in the case play, that the thrower lost his balance and leaned over to touch the defender. Basically, the touch kept him from accidentally touching the floor, which is also a violation. (9.2.5A) So, if this touch, for the purpose of this rule, gives the thrower "inbounds status" I don't see why the thrower contacting a teammate, with the ball, or directly, would not be a violation as well.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
||||
|
Quote:
My guess is the wording of the case play has been in place since before they changed 7-1-1 to not include touching a person; but that's only a guess. They need to update this case play in light of recent rule changes.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Let me think of an example. I know! 4.19.8C Better example. The dribble rule does not tell us it is a violation to touch the ball twice before it hits the floor, but 4.15.4D says it is.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|