![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
CORRECTION: Pt. of Interruption...Team Designations
BadNewsRef.....agreed here are the further points for (b) and thanks....
Scenario #1: Team member B1 now takes a shot and as the ball is in the air the 'horn sounds' to get the officials attention to alert them to the 'correctable error' that Team B is now in the Bonus....Results: Horn does not 'deaden the ball'....(a) if the ball goes in the basket, the basket counts and the pt of interruption is Team A taking the 1:1 w/no one lined up and after the shots Team B gets the ball. (b) if the shot misses and the referee blows the whistle to stop play - (i) Team A gets the rebound - then Team B is awarded the 1:1 w/no players on the line and Team A gets the 'spot' throw-in after the shots (ii) OR Team B gets the rebound - then the teams line up for the correctable error free throws by Team B and play at that point of interruption off of the results of the free throws. Scenario #2: Same scenario as # 1 only now its the official blowing the whistle rather than the 'horn sounding'. Results: all the same? Let me know if (b.i) and (b.ii) make sense? Thanks for asking the clarification |
|
|||
|
I would think in b(i) the results of the free throws would not effect the throw-in. The throw-in would be from where Team A had the ball once the play was stopped. Let's just say that in b(i), Team A controls the rebound and dribbles the ball up the court. Once in their Front court, Team B knocks the ball OOB. Then the table informs the officials of the mistake. The play is still is still correctable. B1 shoots free throws w/o anyone lining up and Team A get the ball POI. Throw-in in their Front court.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I would have the lane cleared for the 1-1 and then resume with the AP arrow from the nearest OOB spot on the end line. |
|
|||
|
Point of Interruption
Quote:
I would tend to agree on this one...especially since if there is a 'miss' on the shot as the whistle is blown then the results of the 'missed shot' - i.e. who gets possession is immaterial. The AP would then come into play after the 1:1 is implemented for Team B. The question is - would the horn be treated the same way? I would think so, especially if the referee were to follow up the horn with the whistle so in reality there really would be no 'rebound' possession in this scenario on a 'miss'? For the most part the 2 teams probably would cease activity w/the whistle being blown. Agreed ? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Point of Interruption
Thanks much for the insights and Case Book Reference.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Point of Interruption | cjclark6cc | Basketball | 4 | Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:53am |
| Point of Interruption | PIAA REF | Basketball | 6 | Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:19am |
| point of interruption | elecref | Basketball | 31 | Wed Sep 28, 2005 05:18pm |
| "point of interruption" | Rhino | Basketball | 1 | Fri Dec 08, 2000 06:11pm |
| Point of Interruption | kspann | Basketball | 12 | Thu Nov 30, 2000 11:48am |