The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   ROP, twice in one game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86561-rop-twice-one-game.html)

amusedofficial Thu Jan 26, 2012 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 816329)
No, because the ball is not in possession of the thrower nor being passed to a teammate outside of the boundary line. So it would just be a DOG for crossing the throw-in boundary-line plane.

If the resumption of play procedure has been followed, is not the ball then at the disposal of the thrower, whomever that may turn out to be?

Raymond Thu Jan 26, 2012 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by amusedofficial (Post 816995)
If the resumption of play procedure has been followed, is not the ball then at the disposal of the thrower, whomever that may turn out to be?

I believe the rule actually says "possession" and not "disposal".

Just checked. Reads: "...touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line "

just another ref Fri Jan 27, 2012 02:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 816981)
You consider the "first horn" warning by the official to be stupid? It's standard procedure everywhere I've lived.

It's standard procedure here. But if they didn't hear/react to the horn, why would the official repeating the warning a second later be helpful?

Raymond Fri Jan 27, 2012 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 816967)
2-12 Timers Duties

Art. 4 Sound a warning signal 15 seconds before the expiration of an intermission or time-out, immediately after which the players shall prepare to resume play..........

On top of that, many places an official approaches the huddle at the first horn to say, "First horn, white! Let's go!" (stupid and redundant imo)

Assuming part of this procedure was done, consider yourself duly warned.

It's a POE for NCAA-M. Guess it's been a big enough problem at the college level that they want the officials to be stupid and redundant.

Adam Fri Jan 27, 2012 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 817108)
It's standard procedure here. But if they didn't hear/react to the horn, why would the official repeating the warning a second later be helpful?

Believe me, it helps.

just another ref Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 817165)
Believe me, it helps.

Sometimes, maybe it does. Sometimes, it obviously doesn't.

Adam Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 817239)
Sometimes, maybe it does. Sometimes, it obviously doesn't.

Sometimes, definitely it does; just because the success rate is less than 100% does not mean it's 0%.

Coaches tune out horns sometimes, a voice in the huddle will sometimes break the concentration.

refiator Sat Jan 28, 2012 01:02am

You MUST make eye contact with the coach when you alert "first horn" at the 15 second warning in a time out.
This happened to me ...once, and never again..... when the 1st horn sounded, I went to the huddle and said "First Horn". The gym was packed and very loud. I did not notice whether the coach heard me....When the second horn sounded, team B was on the court and ready to play....Team A was still huddled.......Partner put the ball on the floor...Resumption of play.....Coach A was unaware that either horn had had sounded due to the noise in the gym.....
Don't let yourself get into a bad situation as it is easy to avoid in this case.
Fortunately, no violation occurred, but a good teachable moment for us.
Yes, the coach SHOULD have someone watching the time, but if not, you can avoid problems by simple actions.

26 Year Gap Sat Jan 28, 2012 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 816311)
last week, competitve ms girls.

Start of the second quarter, v's ball, my partner is the r. The second warning horn sounds, and both teams are still huddling. My partner looks at me, i nod, and he sets the ball down and starts counting.

Team v doesn't have a clue, but team h comes out of the huddle, sees the ball, and high-tails it to the opposite side to pick it up. Tweet, dog warning, and v has been bailed out.

Cut to the third quarter, 30-second time-out, v's ball, opposite sideline. H is on the floor in time, but v is still huddling at the second buzzer. This time, i perform the rop, but this time, the right time sprints to beat the five-second count.

The humorous part was a loudmouth in the second row who didn't like the rop one bit. (tweet, red ball) "give them a warning, give them a warning." (ball set.) that's crap! That's crap!" i wonder how he and his team missed both warning horns, both times.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh hhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rich Sat Jan 28, 2012 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 817425)
You MUST make eye contact with the coach when you alert "first horn" at the 15 second warning in a time out.
This happened to me ...once, and never again..... when the 1st horn sounded, I went to the huddle and said "First Horn". The gym was packed and very loud. I did not notice whether the coach heard me....When the second horn sounded, team B was on the court and ready to play....Team A was still huddled.......Partner put the ball on the floor...Resumption of play.....Coach A was unaware that either horn had had sounded due to the noise in the gym.....
Don't let yourself get into a bad situation as it is easy to avoid in this case.
Fortunately, no violation occurred, but a good teachable moment for us.
Yes, the coach SHOULD have someone watching the time, but if not, you can avoid problems by simple actions.

I won't disturb a head coach -- that's what the handful of assistants are for. If I tell one of them, I've fulfilled my duty.

Adam Sat Jan 28, 2012 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 817507)
I won't disturb a head coach -- that's what the handful of assistants are for. If I tell one of them, I've fulfilled my duty.

Agreed. Any game loud enough for this to be an issue will have enough ACs that I can find one. I'm not waiting for eye contact; particularly in a two-whistle game where I'm going to both huddles.

amusedofficial Sat Jan 28, 2012 09:36pm

Struckhoffian musings
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 816997)
I believe the rule actually says "possession" and not "disposal".

Just checked. Reads: "...touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line "

Thanks for that. It led me to read further on the matter of a defense player grabbing the ball placed on the spot as part of resumption of play.

10-3-5a provides that "[A player shall not ... Delay the game by such acts as] a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play" and provides for a technical foul as penalty.

If the ball has been removed from the spot by a defender, it has been prevented from being made live promptly by the in-bounding team, its malingering notwithstanding.

Moreover, if grabbing a ball that was placed at the spot as part of resumption of play is a delay of game, does not 10-3-5 determine that delay in this circumstance requires a T with no warning?

Adam Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:21pm

The ball is already live. The defense grabbing the ball doesn't prevent it from becoming live.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1