The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
These are all fouls called in the frontcourt and "going long".

C tableside calls foul + ball to be put in play tableside = C becomes C opposite table.

C tableside calls foul + ball to be put in play opposite table = C become New Lead opposite table.

C opposite table calls foul + ball to be put in play tableside = C remains C opposite table.

C opposite table calls foul + ball to be put in play opposite table = C becomes New Lead opposite table.
Not true, at least here (and where fullor30 works).

The old L / new T administers all throw-ins in the BC. The other officials just slide down the court but stay on their own side (table or opposite) to be C and L as required.

So,

1) C becomes L tableside ("bump and run")
2) C becomes C tableside
3) same as above
4) same as above ("bump and run")
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not true, at least here (and where fullor30 works).

The old L / new T administers all throw-ins in the BC. The other officials just slide down the court but stay on their own side (table or opposite) to be C and L as required.

So,

1) C becomes L tableside ("bump and run")
2) C becomes C tableside
3) same as above
4) same as above ("bump and run")
The calling official doesnt go opposite when going long?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
The calling official doesnt go opposite when going long?
No. It's treated just the same as a violation. Would you have the calling official go opposite on a travel call?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
No. It's treated just the same as a violation. Would you have the calling official go opposite on a travel call?
Nope, just goes to show how much things are different depending on where one officiates.
Here we go opposite after each call in HS like NCAA-M.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Nope, just goes to show how much things are different depending on where one officiates.
Here we go opposite after each call in HS like NCAA-M.
I meant the question as something an official here should ask him/herself when trying to fiugre out where to go.

In general, the calling official goes tableside.

It's trumped by the "old L / new T administers all throwins in the BC" procedure.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I meant the question as something an official here should ask him/herself when trying to fiugre out where to go.

In general, the calling official goes tableside.

It's trumped by the "old L / new T administers all throwins in the BC" procedure.
Got it. We have that procedure as well, its just that the calling official will never be the new tableside T.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Got it. We have that procedure as well, its just that the calling official will never be the new tableside T.
Also keep in mind that NFHS and IAABO mechanics differ slightly on this. And NFHS stipulates no switch if there are no foul shots to be taken at the other end.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2012, 01:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I meant the question as something an official here should ask him/herself when trying to fiugre out where to go.

In general, the calling official goes tableside.

It's trumped by the "old L / new T administers all throwins in the BC" procedure.
Yep.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not true, at least here (and where fullor30 works).

The old L / new T administers all throw-ins in the BC. The other officials just slide down the court but stay on their own side (table or opposite) to be C and L as required.

So,

1) C becomes L tableside ("bump and run")
2) C becomes C tableside
3) same as above
4) same as above ("bump and run")
Perfect and precise
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1