The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 13, 2012, 12:15am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverRef View Post
Guys, help me with this. I 'm new and still confused about the division line and need clarification.

1. A1 dribbles the ball into the frontcourt with both feet and the ball. A1 continues to dribble, backs up slightly and one foot barely touches the division line with his heel.

2. A1 dribbles the ball into the frontcourt with both feet and the ball. A1 passes the ball to A2 who is touching the division line with his heel.

Backcourt violation NFHS?

Does the ball and both feet have to have BC status as well to be a violation?
1. Violation
2. Violation

No.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 13, 2012, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Centennial, CO Denver
Posts: 8
Thanks for the quick reply. So that brings me to this next point.

What if A1 (after having FC status) fumbles his dribble along the div line in the FC, steps on the line and then back in to the FC retrieve the loose ball? I'm assuming this would be legal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 13, 2012, 12:34am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverRef View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. So that brings me to this next point.

What if A1 (after having FC status) fumbles his dribble along the div line in the FC, steps on the line and then back in to the FC retrieve the loose ball? I'm assuming this would be legal.
It depends...if the fumble touches the division line, then any subsequent touch by Team A would be a BC violation (unless Team B touches it first after it touches the division line).

If you meant he fumbled it, but the ball remained in the FC, then it would be legal...player location is determined by the last place the player touched. So in your scenario, the step on the line would have A1 in the backcourt, then the next step in the FC would have A1 in the frontcourt.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt question zm1283 Basketball 10 Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:28pm
Backcourt Question JMUplayer Basketball 54 Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:47pm
Another Backcourt Question. Sorry! Rick Durkee Basketball 23 Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:38pm
Another Backcourt Question DrC. Basketball 5 Mon Mar 13, 2000 11:01pm
Another backcourt question ken roberts Basketball 6 Thu Dec 16, 1999 02:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1