The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Passed on a multiple foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85407-passed-multiple-foul.html)

Raymond Thu Jan 05, 2012 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 810853)
If thats how you want to run your ballgames. In mine the knucklehead gets the foul in multiple situations.



I try to stay cognizant of all the quality players fouls.

Who said there was a knucklehead involved?

And if I'm the primary and I have a clear foul by B2 you're saying I should then have a discussion with my parnter to see if he had the same foul? Folks I work with are going to expect me to take my foul to the table.

tref Thu Jan 05, 2012 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 810857)
Who said there was a knucklehead involved?

And if I'm the primary and I have a clear foul by B2 you're saying I should then have a discussion with my parnter to see if he had the same foul? Folks I work with are going to expect me to take my foul to the table.

You know how we change the sitch 'round here!! :D

Negative sir. I'm sure that you lead quality pregames, so if you pregammed that doubles whistles go to the L except from Cs side, I would expect you to take it as well.
But there's nothing wrong with doing a "walk-by" if you're the non-calling official & have pertinent info to give.

Adam Thu Jan 05, 2012 02:58pm

If I'm doing a game in the Eagle's Nest, I'll probably give it to #34.

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 05, 2012 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snaqwells (Post 810866)
if i'm doing a game in the eagle's nest, i'll probably give it to #34.

:d

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 05, 2012 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 810824)
I think it's ok that the "multiple foul" went through your head - it shows that you understand what a multiple is.

Now, that you didn't actually call a multiple foul is even better. Pick one and move on. If the fouls are about the same in severity, pick the first. If they're not the same in severity, pick the more severe one (ruling the other as incidental).

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 810828)
How about incorporating total player fouls into this mix?

I have no problems with that philosophy, if I happen to know the individual foul counts, and if I can sell it. It's not a high priority for me to know though.

BillyMac Thu Jan 05, 2012 06:52pm

Does Everyone Remember The Penalty ???
 
Multiple Foul:
a. One free throw for each foul:
(1) No try involved.
(2) Successful or unsuccessful two-point try or tap.
(3) Successful three-point try or tap.
b. Two free throws for each foul:
(1) Intentional or flagrant foul.
(2) Unsuccessful three-point try or tap.

4.19.11 SITUATION: B1 and B2 foul A1 at the same time while A1 is: (a) driving
down the lane; (b) in the act of shooting a successful or unsuccessful two point
try; (c) a successful three-point try; or (d) an unsuccessful three-point try.
RULING: One free throw for each foul in (a), (b) and (c) and two free throws for
each in (d). (10 Penalty 6)

just another ref Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 810934)
Multiple Foul:
a. One free throw for each foul:
(1) No try involved.
(2) Successful or unsuccessful two-point try or tap.
(3) Successful three-point try or tap.
b. Two free throws for each foul:
(1) Intentional or flagrant foul.
(2) Unsuccessful three-point try or tap.

4.19.11 SITUATION: B1 and B2 foul A1 at the same time while A1 is: (a) driving
down the lane; (b) in the act of shooting a successful or unsuccessful two point
try; (c) a successful three-point try; or (d) an unsuccessful three-point try.
RULING: One free throw for each foul in (a), (b) and (c) and two free throws for
each in (d). (10 Penalty 6)


I've gotta ask. Why does this case play have no significance with anyone, but 4.19.8 C is treated as gospel of the highest kind by everyone and expanded to include other things that are not even there?

APG Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 810966)
I've gotta ask. Why does this case play have no significance with anyone, but 4.19.8 C is treated as gospel of the highest kind by everyone and explanded to include other things that are not even there?

Simple answer...

Cause

bainsey Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 810857)
And if I'm the primary and I have a clear foul by B2 you're saying I should then have a discussion with my parnter to see if he had the same foul? Folks I work with are going to expect me to take my foul to the table.

Once again, Roman Law.

If my partner and I have whistles, we briefly talk about it. A great majority of the time, we have the same thing. ("20 white?" "Yup.") If we differ, we discuss.

And, why would I want to know how many fouls a player has? My job is to determine whether they fouled. It's someone else's job on my team to count them.

Rich Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 810866)
If I'm doing a game in the Eagle's Nest, I'll probably give it to #34.

I think tomorrow I'm going to give the first 2 to #34. Even if there is no #34 playing. It'll be an homage.

Rich Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 810966)
I've gotta ask. Why does this case play have no significance with anyone, but 4.19.8 C is treated as gospel of the highest kind by everyone and expanded to include other things that are not even there?

Just cause.

Any other answer I give will result in me eventually banging my head off a brick wall.

just another ref Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 810998)
Just cause.

Any other answer I give will result in me eventually banging my head off a brick wall.

What does that mean? 4.19.11 is a direct extension of the rule, unlike the other which reaches a conclusion that nobody would have come to on his own.
You yourself once said that you wouldn't come out with a double foul in a blarge situation. Did that change or were you kidding?

Camron Rust Fri Jan 06, 2012 01:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 811007)
What does that mean? 4.19.11 is a direct extension of the rule, unlike the other which reaches a conclusion that <strike>nobody</strike>everyone but me would have come to on his own.
You yourself once said that you wouldn't come out with a double foul in a blarge situation. Did that change or were you kidding?

I fixed your typo.

just another ref Fri Jan 06, 2012 01:56am

Not everyone, or at least not always.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude
As one poster said earlier...just because a signal is made, does that make it a call. If the "signal" was never reported...then does that mean it never happened, and thus was not an actual call? (you know...sort of like the tree in the forest)

Your case play states two calls are made. Therefore, I am assuming both officials could not get together and decide which call to make. Soooo, in this case...you are correct...score the basket.

I am simply saying...that in my games...we will get together and come up with ONE call, not TWo...as stated in your case play.

If I am reading this case play wrong...then I guess I will miss this inteurpt...but, at least I will be consistent with what my fellow officials do in this area.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
If I were ever to end up in a blarge situation, we certainly wouldn't come out with a double foul. I'd pretend I was working an NCAA-W game, if only for a moment.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
I have never understood why this is a special situation.

If my partner signals a held ball and I have a fist up for a foul, we don't apply both. If I call a travel and my partner has a foul, we don't call both.

Like I said, 20 years without this happening and the closest I got was earlier this season, although my grandmother could've made the charge call and she died 20 years ago.

I would like to think I could sidestep the rule book and do what I posted earlier, but I'm cursed with a pretty good knowledge of the book and a history of enforcing it even when it wasn't the easy or popular thing to do.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. Denucci, Sr.
Rich:

I agree with you 100%. I have argued this point for years. The rules as written prohibit blarges. Either it is a block or it is a charge, not both.

MTD, Sr.


Raymond Fri Jan 06, 2012 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 811007)
What does that mean? 4.19.11 is a direct extension of the rule, unlike the other which reaches a conclusion that nobody would have come to on his own.
You yourself once said that you wouldn't come out with a double foul in a blarge situation. Did that change or were you kidding?

I feel like I'm at a bar listening to a drunk recite the same story over and over again. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1