The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
A question from the NCAA-W rules test is giving me problems applying it to a correctable error situation in a high school game (NFHS rules) that a buddy told me about. First the NCAA situation:
Q. Team A is not yet in the bonus when A2 is erroneously awarded a one-and-one. Both free throws are successful. Team B inbounds the ball and dribbles to midcourt and calls a timeout. During this timeout, the officials discover that A2 was awarded unmerited free throws. What is the result?
A. A2's free throws are canceled. Play is resumed with a throw-in to Team B at midcourt. (4-12-5)

The NCAA rule for correctable errors is identical in all meaningful ways to the NFHS rule.

I am having a hard time grasping this answer. Team A shot unmerited free throws and when the error is discovered, the points come off the board and the ball goes to Team B, which had the ball when the error was discovered. Wow. I don't see why Team A does not get the ball back for its rightful spot throw-in.
Team A doesn't get the ball back because there's been a change of possession. It's an error. Not everything can be equitable when an error is corrected.

Quote:
Now...the situation my buddy described. A1 releases a 3-point try, which is successful. While the ball is in the air, B3 is called for a common foul against A3 under the basket. Team A is in the bonus. The officials make a mistake and allow A1 to shoot the free throws and he makes them both. As Team B is bringing the ball up the court, the table sounds the horn and the referee stops play. The scorer tells the ref that A1 just made a 5-point play and the ref now realizes the error.

What is the correct procedure?

I know you cancel the free throws because they were made by the wrong player and it is within the correctable time frame. Do you then let the correct player shoot the bonus free throws with no one on the lane and then give Team B the ball at the POI?

Or do you just wipe out the the free throws and give the ball back to Team B (no free throws to Team A) since it had the ball when play was stopped?
You allow the correct shooter to shoot his FT(s). Then give the ball back to B at POI.

Quote:
If the first, then how do you explain the NCAA ruling in what seems to be a similar situation?
The situations are NOT the same.
One is shooting unmerited FTs.
The other is the wrong shooter.
Two different items, tow different issues.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another R2 quandry Andy Volleyball 7 Thu Sep 22, 2011 03:22pm
New Correctable Error? iref4him Basketball 16 Sat Sep 13, 2008 02:24pm
correctable error cloverdale Basketball 12 Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:19am
Correctable Error???? mtbabo Basketball 10 Tue Jul 27, 2004 02:33am
Correctable error? Rev.Ref63 Basketball 10 Fri Nov 07, 2003 08:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1