The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Defender slaps ball out of inbounder's hands (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84340-defender-slaps-ball-out-inbounders-hands.html)

ballgame99 Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:27pm

Defender slaps ball out of inbounder's hands
 
What's the call? I'm having trouble finding the rule. Had this happen not once, but twice last night.

Adam Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:29pm

Where was the ball in relation to the OOB plane?

Toren Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 804651)
What's the call? I'm having trouble finding the rule. Had this happen not once, but twice last night.

Where is the ball? Is the ball on the outside of the boundary plane? Or inside the court?

tref Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:30pm

Where did the thrower have the ball when it was slapped?

ballgame99 Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:32pm

she was holding it at her chest (ie not in the motion of throwing it in) both times. So it was behind the line.

Toren Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 804656)
she was holding it at her chest (ie not in the motion of throwing it in) both times. So it was behind the line.

Technical...both times

bob jenkins Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 804657)
Technical...both times

And the first time it's ALSO a DOG warning (unless one had already been issued).

Adam Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 804656)
she was holding it at her chest (ie not in the motion of throwing it in) both times. So it was behind the line.

If she was standing close enough to the line, holding it at her chest could leave part of the ball over the in bounds side of the line, but assuming the ball was completely OOB, Toren and Bob have answered.

APG Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:37pm

9.2.10 SITUATION A: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction.

RULING: B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach.

COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower’s efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic. (4-47-1; 10-1-5b, c; 10-3-10)

Toren Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 804660)
If she was standing close enough to the line, holding it at her chest could leave part of the ball over the in bounds side of the line, but assuming the ball was completely OOB, Toren and Bob have answered.

I'm glad you didn't ask how big her chest was, that's a different forum :D

ballgame99 Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:39pm

OK, cool, we T'd both of them up. So if part of the ball is over the line what is the call?

Both of these were not just the defender tapping or touching the ball, they both forcefully knocked it out of the inbounder's hands.

APG Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 804664)
OK, cool, we T'd both of them up. So if part of the ball is over the line what is the call?

Both of these were not just the defender tapping or touching the ball, they both forcefully knocked it out of the inbounder's hands.

7.6.4 SITUATION A: While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1: (a) slaps the ball from A1’s hand(s); or (b) simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B’s basket. RULING: In (a), no violation has occurred and play continues. In (b), score two points for Team B.

Adam Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:43pm

If the ball is on the in bounds side, it's a legal play.

Hugh Refner Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 804666)
If the ball is on the in bounds side, it's a legal play.

OK, what if part of the ball in inbounds and part is OOB and the defender slaps the ball on the inbounds side? A few years ago, I had this happen. I was told that if any part of the ball is OOB and any part of the ball is slapped (even the part that was inbounds), you make the call.

I guess it's part of the same thinking that caused the rule change this year about fouling the inbounders hands while they're over the court is the same intentional foul call as if the contact occurred with the part of their hand that was OOB. It's just too tough for the official to make that distinction.

Comments?

ballgame99 Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:51pm

Wow. In all my years of playing/coaching and now reffing I did not know that. Thanks. I would imagine if that happened in live action coaches and fans would freak the freak out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1