The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Defender slaps ball out of inbounder's hands (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84340-defender-slaps-ball-out-inbounders-hands.html)

ballgame99 Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:27pm

Defender slaps ball out of inbounder's hands
 
What's the call? I'm having trouble finding the rule. Had this happen not once, but twice last night.

Adam Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:29pm

Where was the ball in relation to the OOB plane?

Toren Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 804651)
What's the call? I'm having trouble finding the rule. Had this happen not once, but twice last night.

Where is the ball? Is the ball on the outside of the boundary plane? Or inside the court?

tref Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:30pm

Where did the thrower have the ball when it was slapped?

ballgame99 Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:32pm

she was holding it at her chest (ie not in the motion of throwing it in) both times. So it was behind the line.

Toren Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 804656)
she was holding it at her chest (ie not in the motion of throwing it in) both times. So it was behind the line.

Technical...both times

bob jenkins Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 804657)
Technical...both times

And the first time it's ALSO a DOG warning (unless one had already been issued).

Adam Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 804656)
she was holding it at her chest (ie not in the motion of throwing it in) both times. So it was behind the line.

If she was standing close enough to the line, holding it at her chest could leave part of the ball over the in bounds side of the line, but assuming the ball was completely OOB, Toren and Bob have answered.

APG Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:37pm

9.2.10 SITUATION A: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction.

RULING: B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach.

COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower’s efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic. (4-47-1; 10-1-5b, c; 10-3-10)

Toren Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 804660)
If she was standing close enough to the line, holding it at her chest could leave part of the ball over the in bounds side of the line, but assuming the ball was completely OOB, Toren and Bob have answered.

I'm glad you didn't ask how big her chest was, that's a different forum :D

ballgame99 Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:39pm

OK, cool, we T'd both of them up. So if part of the ball is over the line what is the call?

Both of these were not just the defender tapping or touching the ball, they both forcefully knocked it out of the inbounder's hands.

APG Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 804664)
OK, cool, we T'd both of them up. So if part of the ball is over the line what is the call?

Both of these were not just the defender tapping or touching the ball, they both forcefully knocked it out of the inbounder's hands.

7.6.4 SITUATION A: While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1: (a) slaps the ball from A1’s hand(s); or (b) simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B’s basket. RULING: In (a), no violation has occurred and play continues. In (b), score two points for Team B.

Adam Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:43pm

If the ball is on the in bounds side, it's a legal play.

Hugh Refner Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 804666)
If the ball is on the in bounds side, it's a legal play.

OK, what if part of the ball in inbounds and part is OOB and the defender slaps the ball on the inbounds side? A few years ago, I had this happen. I was told that if any part of the ball is OOB and any part of the ball is slapped (even the part that was inbounds), you make the call.

I guess it's part of the same thinking that caused the rule change this year about fouling the inbounders hands while they're over the court is the same intentional foul call as if the contact occurred with the part of their hand that was OOB. It's just too tough for the official to make that distinction.

Comments?

ballgame99 Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:51pm

Wow. In all my years of playing/coaching and now reffing I did not know that. Thanks. I would imagine if that happened in live action coaches and fans would freak the freak out.

tref Wed Dec 14, 2011 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 804670)
OK, what if part of the ball in inbounds and part is OOB and the defender slaps the ball on the inbounds side? A few years ago, I had this happen. I was told that if any part of the ball is OOB and any part of the ball is slapped (even the part that was inbounds), you make the call.

Comments?

Isnt the ball either on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the plane?

just another ref Wed Dec 14, 2011 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 804660)
If she was standing close enough to the line, holding it at her chest could leave part of the ball over the in bounds side of the line, but assuming the ball was completely OOB, Toren and Bob have answered.

Why does the ball have to be completely out of bounds? If the defender reaches through the plane and touches the part of the ball on that side, it is still a technical, is it not?

Camron Rust Wed Dec 14, 2011 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 804670)
OK, what if part of the ball in inbounds and part is OOB and the defender slaps the ball on the inbounds side? A few years ago, I had this happen. I was told that if any part of the ball is OOB and any part of the ball is slapped (even the part that was inbounds), you make the call.

I guess it's part of the same thinking that caused the rule change this year about fouling the inbounders hands while they're over the court is the same intentional foul call as if the contact occurred with the part of their hand that was OOB. It's just too tough for the official to make that distinction.

Comments?

It isn't really where the ball is that matters. It is where the defenders hands are.

If the defenders hands remain on the inbounds side of the plane, you have a legal play.

If the defenders hands cross through the plane, you have an illegal play. The penalty depends on what they touch while reaching through the plane. If the touch nothing, delay of game. If they touch the ball, technical foul. If they touch the thrower, intentional personal foul.

(Note that not reaching through the plane but touching the thrower has reached through...presumably with the ball....has also recently been declared an intentional personal foul. It doesn't make any sense, but that hasn't stopped the recent rules committees from making changes).

tophat67 Wed Dec 14, 2011 03:58pm

So no warning on on the first time they do it? Warnings only on inbounds plane violations and not hitting the ball?

Johnny Ringo Wed Dec 14, 2011 04:05pm

What if the thrower has broken the plane with the ball and part of his/her arm.

In attempt to play the ball, the defender makes contact with throwers arm - which has broken the plane?

Is this an intentional foul or common foul?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 14, 2011 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tophat67 (Post 804753)
So no warning on on the first time they do it? Warnings only on inbounds plane violations and not hitting the ball?

No. A T or an IP foul is ALSO the first warning. If they then break the plane again (without hitting the ball / arm), it's another T.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 804759)
What if the thrower has broken the plane with the ball and part of his/her arm.

In attempt to play the ball, the defender makes contact with throwers arm - which has broken the plane?

Is this an intentional foul or common foul?

Intentional

Camron Rust Wed Dec 14, 2011 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 804759)
What if the thrower has broken the plane with the ball and part of his/her arm.

In attempt to play the ball, the defender makes contact with throwers arm - which has broken the plane?

Is this an intentional foul or common foul?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 804764)
Intentional

Unfortunately, that is the current ruling.

It doesn't really make sense that you are allowed to play the ball but if you miss and get a little arm, you get an intentional foul, but that is what the rules committee has decided. I think they have a minimum quota of nonsensical rulings that they must make each year.

Welpe Wed Dec 14, 2011 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 804769)
Unfortunately, that is the current ruling.

It doesn't really make sense that you are allowed to play the ball but if you miss and get a little arm, you get an intentional foul, but that is what the rules committee has decided. I think they have a minimum quota of nonsensical rulings that they must make each year.

Well I guess we could treat that as incidental unless the contact rises to the level of an intentional foul. Not exactly what they wanted but I'm just saying...

BillyMac Wed Dec 14, 2011 06:54pm

Furthermore ...
 
The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team delay warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team delay warning will be recorded. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane, and fouls the inbounding player, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team delay warning will be recorded. It is an intentional personal foul if the defender fouls the inbounding player, even without breaking the imaginary plane, however, in this specific case, there is no delay of game warning because the defender did not break the boundary plane.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 14, 2011 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 804792)
Well I guess we could treat that as incidental unless the contact rises to the level of an intentional foul. Not exactly what they wanted but I'm just saying...

Don't think so. If there's contact, it's an intentional foul. Now, if the contact is missed, ...

26 Year Gap Wed Dec 14, 2011 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 804738)
It isn't really where the ball is that matters. It is where the defenders hands are.

If the defenders hands remain on the inbounds side of the plane, you have a legal play.

If the defenders hands cross through the plane, you have an illegal play. The penalty depends on what they touch while reaching through the plane. If the touch nothing, delay of game. If they touch the ball, technical foul. If they touch the thrower, intentional personal foul.

(Note that not reaching through the plane but touching the thrower has reached through...presumably with the ball....has also recently been declared an intentional personal foul. It doesn't make any sense, but that hasn't stopped the recent rules committees from making changes).

Sure it does. Before the change, the penalty for hitting the ball was more severe than the penalty for hitting the player.

Welpe Wed Dec 14, 2011 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 804849)
Don't think so. If there's contact, it's an intentional foul. Now, if the contact is missed, ...

Good point, I guess in this case there is no such thing as incidental contact. I still don't like it.

Adam Wed Dec 14, 2011 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 804856)
Good point, I guess in this case there is no such thing as incidental contact. I still don't like it.

Wonder about contact with the hand....

Camron Rust Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 804853)
Sure it does. Before the change, the penalty for hitting the ball was more severe than the penalty for hitting the player.

What penalty for hitting the ball? It was LEGAL to hit the ball. Remember, the contact we're talking about is on the inbounds side of the line.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 15, 2011 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 804863)
Wonder about contact with the hand....

Intentional Foul.

tophat67 Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:57am

What's the call if the ball has been released by the player inbounding the ball, but is still on the out of bounds side of the line and is touched by the defender? Is the ball awarded to the same inbounding team again for another inbounds play?

Adam Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:05am

Most of the questions can be answered by the wording in 9-2 (penalty 3) and 10-3-10. The technical foul is for reaching through the boundary plane and dislodging the ball while it is in possession of the thrower or being passed between teammates out of bounds.

So the answer to your question depends on where the thrower was throwing the ball. If he was throwing to a teammate OOB, T. If he had released the throwin pass, play on.

Welpe Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 805047)
The technical foul is for reaching through the boundary plane and dislodging the ball

Not to pick nits but is the T for dislodging or for simply touching the ball?

Adam Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 805052)
Not to pick nits but is the T for dislodging or for simply touching the ball?

Yes, according to 10-3-10. Typed that out to quickly.

Welpe Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:30am

Got it. I was scrambling for my book because I was afraid I had not remembered correctly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1