The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   a fall and a trip (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84124-fall-trip.html)

CoachNRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 05:36pm

a fall and a trip
 
A1 driving toward basket. B1 guarding but falls and A1 trips over B1 and ball goes oob. whats ur call?

BktBallRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803437)
A1 driving toward basket. B1 guarding but falls and A1 trips over B1 and ball goes oob. whats ur call?

There's no way to make a call based on that description. That's a play you would have to see to make. Could be a foul on B1 or it could be a perfectly legal by B1. It is not automatically either one.

CoachNRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 06:11pm

BBR thats just the way it happened. it was JH-8B and sometimes these kids just fall then others trip and it looks real ugly. everyone expects a foul call for a crash. it was difficult to call a block as he was guarding on the move... so i just called oob.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803443)
BBR thats just the way it happened.

No, that's not "just the way it happened."

Did B1 have legal guarding position?
Did B1 fall down while backing up?
Did B1 move toward A1 as he fell?
Did B1 fall into A1's path as he tried to go by him?

If B1 had not fallen down and the same collision had occurred, would there have been a foul? Who would it have been on?

So no, you did not give us enough information to know whether a foul occurred or not.

CoachNRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803445)
No, that's not "just the way it happened."

Did B1 have legal guarding position?
Did B1 fall down while backing up?
Did B1 move toward A1 as he fell?
Did B1 fall into A1's path as he tried to go by him?

If B1 had not fallen down and the same collision had occurred, would there have been a foul? Who would it have been on?

So no, you did not give us enough information to know whether a foul occurred or not.

yes, yes, no, no

if B1 hadn't fallen down, you could not have the same collision. now if B1 stopped would A1 have run into him? maybe.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 10, 2011 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803453)
yes, yes, no, no

if B1 hadn't fallen down, you could not have the same collision. now if B1 stopped would A1 have run into him? maybe.

B's position is legal (FED rules), so the rest of the play is what it is..

BillyMac Sun Dec 11, 2011 07:54am

Confucius Say ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 803493)
B's position is legal (FED rules), so the rest of the play is what it is.

There's a difference between being tripped, and tripping.

vbzebra Sun Dec 11, 2011 08:40am

B may have had LGP, but once he's fallen onto the floor, he no longer has LGP, right? If he moves even a wee bit with A1 falling after the contact with
B1, we'd have a foul on B1, right?

BktBallRef Sun Dec 11, 2011 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by vbzebra (Post 803589)
B may have had LGP, but once he's fallen onto the floor, he no longer has LGP, right? If he moves even a wee bit with A1 falling after the contact with
B1, we'd have a foul on B1, right?

Makes no difference whether he has LGP or not. If he got to his spot on the floor first without illegally contacting an opponent, then he is entitled to that position under NFHS rules. His movement is no more limited than if he was still on his feet.

twocentsworth Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803437)
A1 driving toward basket. B1 guarding but falls and A1 trips over B1 and ball goes oob. whats ur call?

seems like this has come up several times so far this year (here and elsewhere).....

by NFHS rule, the defender has a right to that space on the floor. When the contact is such that it causes the ball handler to fall and lose the ball, then I've got a foul on the defender.

CoachNRef Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803600)
Makes no difference whether he has LGP or not. If he got to his spot on the floor first without illegally contacting an opponent, then he is entitled to that position under NFHS rules. His movement is no more limited than if he was still on his feet.

Whats the rule citation or case?

Rob1968 Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803620)
Whats the rule citation or case?

4-23-1 (3rd sentence) ...Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.

Jay R Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803600)
Makes no difference whether he has LGP or not. If he got to his spot on the floor first without illegally contacting an opponent, then he is entitled to that position under NFHS rules. His movement is no more limited than if he was still on his feet.

So the defender dives to the floor in front of a dribbler. As long as he gets there before the dribbler, you're not calling a foul when the dribbler trips over the defender?

Adam Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:38am

I've had it happen both ways this year. B1 falls, and lays there while a dribbling A1 trips. No call. B1 trips, and rolls over A1's leg, causing him to fall.

Adam Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 803628)
So the defender dives to the floor in front of a dribbler. As long as he gets there before the dribbler, you're not calling a foul when the dribbler trips over the defender?

Nope.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 11, 2011 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803600)
Makes no difference whether he has LGP or not. If he got to his spot on the floor first without illegally contacting an opponent, then he is entitled to that position under NFHS rules. His movement is no more limited than if he was still on his feet.

Really? Isn't it LGP that grants a defender the privilege of moving at the time of contact?

BktBallRef Sun Dec 11, 2011 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 803662)
Really? Isn't it LGP that grants a defender the privilege of moving at the time of contact?

Camron, please don't take my comments out of context and twist them for your own means. I wrote three statements, not one.

A player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. Whether he's lying on the floor or standing with his back to the dribbler, the same restrictions exist on his movement and his position, based on this rule.

That has nothing to do with LGP, nor did my last two statements have anything to do with LGP.

If you want to tell us about LGP, then by all means, knock yourself out.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 11, 2011 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803620)
Whats the rule citation or case?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 803628)
So the defender dives to the floor in front of a dribbler. As long as he gets there before the dribbler, you're not calling a foul when the dribbler trips over the defender?

The answer is the same for both of you.

4-23-1
Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803680)
Camron, please don't take my comments out of context and twist them for your own means. I wrote three statements, not one.

A player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. Whether he's lying on the floor or standing with his back to the dribbler, the same restrictions exist on his movement and his position, based on this rule.

That has nothing to do with LGP, nor did my last two statements have anything to do with LGP.

If you want to tell us about LGP, then by all means, knock yourself out.

Wow??? Did someone get out of bed on the wrong side today or what! I took NOTHING out of context...I quoted the entire post.

The fact is that the movement that the movement of a player on the floor is more limited than a player on their feet since a player laying on the floor can't have LGP.

Your IM to me was as juvenile as I've seen in a long time.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 803752)
Wow??? Did someone get out of bed on the wrong side today or what! I took NOTHING out of context...I quoted the entire post.

No, just tired of your petty nitpicking of everything I write when others don't have a problem with it.

You highlighted the last statement in RED. You only commented on the last statement. So yes, you damn well did take that statement out of context.

The last statement did not apply to LGP. It applied to the second statement I wrote. I can't believe you don't understand that.

I couldn't care less what you think of my PM to you. I now have two posters on my Ignore list.

BillyMac Mon Dec 12, 2011 07:17am

Making A List, Checkng It Twice ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803758)
I now have two posters on my Ignore list.

BktBallRef: When are you going to take me off your list?

Camron Rust Mon Dec 12, 2011 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803758)
No, just tired of your petty nitpicking of everything I write when others don't have a problem with it.

You highlighted the last statement in RED. You only commented on the last statement. So yes, you damn well did take that statement out of context.

The last statement did not apply to LGP. It applied to the second statement I wrote. I can't believe you don't understand that.

I couldn't care less what you think of my PM to you. I now have two posters on my Ignore list.

Petty nitpicking. State things accurately and you'll get no responses. State things ambiguously or incompletely and you'll get replies.

I've ALWAYS respected your contributions here and have considered you a valuable source of information. I am not attempting to make you look like the idiot you claimed to be in the PM. If you feel threatened by having your words clarified/corrected, I can't help that. And if you're ignoring me for that, you've really got thin skin.

JRutledge Mon Dec 12, 2011 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 803936)

I've ALWAYS respected your contributions here and have considered you a valuable source of information. I am not attempting to make you look like the idiot you claimed to be in the PM. If you feel threatened by having your words clarified/corrected, I can't help that. And if you're ignoring me for that, you've really got thin skin.

Agreed. There are a lot of those here.

Peace

MD Longhorn Mon Dec 12, 2011 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 803628)
So the defender dives to the floor in front of a dribbler. As long as he gets there before the dribbler, you're not calling a foul when the dribbler trips over the defender?

Why would you? (Assuming defender isn't moving when contacted)

MD Longhorn Mon Dec 12, 2011 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 803752)
Wow??? Did someone get out of bed on the wrong side today or what! I took NOTHING out of context...I quoted the entire post.

The fact is that the movement that the movement of a player on the floor is more limited than a player on their feet since a player laying on the floor can't have LGP.

Your IM to me was as juvenile as I've seen in a long time.

Yeah, ya did. The red sentence is part of his explanation as to why LGP is NOT relevant in this case. You took the sentence and reversed the context.

Jay R Mon Dec 12, 2011 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 803943)
Why would you? (Assuming defender isn't moving when contacted)

.

I can't believe this. The defender does not have a LGP. You can't defend someone while lying on your back. You often see someone get a rebound and trip on a player who fell to the floor next to them. Are you calling a travel or a foul? I'm calling the foul.

If you go back to the original post. The defender tripped (I assume on his own feet) and then the dribbler tripped on the defender. I'm assuming all of this happened quickly and that the dribbler did not have time to avoid the player on the floor. Call the foul, nobody is going to complain.

BktBallRef Mon Dec 12, 2011 05:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 803968)
.

I can't believe this. The defender does not have a LGP. You can't defend someone while lying on your back. You often see someone get a rebound and trip on a player who fell to the floor next to them. Are you calling a travel or a foul? I'm calling the foul.

If you go back to the original post. The defender tripped (I assume on his own feet) and then the dribbler tripped on the defender. I'm assuming all of this happened quickly and that the dribbler did not have time to avoid the player on the floor. Call the foul, nobody is going to complain.

I don't make calls based who will or won't complain. :)

Jay, I think you work mostly NCAA rules, correct?

In NCAA, you'd be correct. It's specifically addressed.

But not so in NFHS.

MD Longhorn Mon Dec 12, 2011 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 803968)
.

I can't believe this. The defender does not have a LGP. You can't defend someone while lying on your back. You often see someone get a rebound and trip on a player who fell to the floor next to them. Are you calling a travel or a foul? I'm calling the foul.

If you go back to the original post. The defender tripped (I assume on his own feet) and then the dribbler tripped on the defender. I'm assuming all of this happened quickly and that the dribbler did not have time to avoid the player on the floor. Call the foul, nobody is going to complain.

If you call that at high school, you're simply wrong. I know you won't (or don't) believe me, so I suggest you ask your schedulers or supervisors. I promise you are incorrect.

I've seen you post college responses here before, so if you're referring to college ball, you are correct. The question was not stated to be college ball though - and I generally assume high school here unless otherwise noted.

just another ref Mon Dec 12, 2011 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 804023)
.....I suggest you ask your schedulers or supervisors.

That is not a sure thing. Saturday, the referee for our BV game made several of the guys take off their undershirts because they had long sleeves. The other umpire and I told him he was mistaken. We ended up making a little wager. The other umpire is acquainted with the assistant executive director of our state, so he gave him a call on the way home. He backed the ruling made by the referee.:eek:

MD Longhorn Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 804028)
That is not a sure thing. Saturday, the referee for our BV game made several of the guys take off their undershirts because they had long sleeves. The other umpire and I told him he was mistaken. We ended up making a little wager. The other umpire is acquainted with the assistant executive director of our state, so he gave him a call on the way home. He backed the ruling made by the referee.:eek:

Ugh! Fair enough! :)

grunewar Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 804028)
That is not a sure thing. Saturday, the referee for our BV game made several of the guys take off their undershirts because they had long sleeves. The other umpire and I told him he was mistaken. We ended up making a little wager. The other umpire is acquainted with the assistant executive director of our state, so he gave him a call on the way home. He backed the ruling made by the referee.:eek:

So, did the R and Asst Exec split the money? :p

Camron Rust Mon Dec 12, 2011 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 803944)
Yeah, ya did. The red sentence is part of his explanation as to why LGP is NOT relevant in this case. You took the sentence and reversed the context.

When I read it, that is not how it came across. Maybe he meant it to say that but that is not they way it seemed. I suppose it was ambiguous and could have been read either way. But if I read it that way, I'm sure that someone else did too.

BillyMac Mon Dec 12, 2011 08:11pm

There's A Difference Between Being Tripped, And Tripping ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 803968)
You often see someone get a rebound and trip on a player who fell to the floor next to them. Are you calling a travel or a foul? I'm calling the foul.

I'm probalby not (NFHS).

CoachNRef Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:36pm

this happens so often and imho i err on no-call and take the heat from fans, coaches and sometimes evaluator. if there's no contact by defender on way down, though it looks like it from 10 feet, it not a foul. but must admit im tempted to "blow with the wind" and please, otherwise i'll hear about it. there's very little respect for judgement but i did have a coach compliment me for standing my ground and tell me he always tells his players "if we lose we lost because we missed a FT, a turnover...some where we made mistakes."

great discussion...gives me more confidence for next call.

Jay R Tue Dec 13, 2011 07:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 804014)
I don't make calls based who will or won't complain. :)

Jay, I think you work mostly NCAA rules, correct?

In NCAA, you'd be correct. It's specifically addressed.

But not so in NFHS.

My experience is with NCAA rules in the past and FIBA now. I live in Canada. I learned something. I never thought that NFHS would somehow be different in this context.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1