![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Scrapper: I understand why you are saying what you are saying, but the NFHS wanted to bring its definition inline with the NCAA's definition and the NFHS did a terrible job of it. I do not believe that one can say that team control ends when the throw-in ends in the play being discussed whether the game is played under NCAA or NFHS rules. The definition of TC is the same for both rules sets. In the play being discussed, Team A has control of the ball at the time of the IW. Thw IW cassed the ball to go from Live Ball to Dead Ball. Therefore Team A get possession of the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the ball at the time of the IW. There is no TC from the time of the IW until the ball is at the disposal for Team A's throw-in at which the ball is both in PC of the Thrower and in TC of Team A. The NFHS can say that TC ended when the throw-in ended but there is nothing, nada, now way Jose, can then position be defended by rule. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Inadvertent whistle | oldschool | Basketball | 3 | Tue Mar 01, 2011 05:08pm |
Inadvertent Whistle | AZ Line Judge | Football | 7 | Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:23pm |
My first inadvertent whistle | OverAndBack | Football | 22 | Tue Oct 19, 2004 09:34pm |
Inadvertent Whistle? | Endzone | Football | 7 | Fri Oct 17, 2003 09:56pm |
Inadvertent Whistle | JStinski82 | Basketball | 3 | Sat Feb 05, 2000 04:04pm |